It’s spring!

I snapped this shot of these white flowers yesterday in my flower bed.  Are they snowbells?  I'm going to have to look at the more closely tomorrow.  Yesterday the dogs were "helping" me take pictures, so I couldn't get very close.  Somehow, the stem isn't attached to the flower, and I didn't notice the little green spots on the petals. 

I had to work today, but I went in early so it was still light when I got home.  It was already cloudy so I didn't go out with my camera.  I crashed in my chair for 15 minutes or so, then I got up and fixed dinner.  We had some leftovers, so all I fixed was some ground beef cooked with onions and peppers with a can of cream of mushroom soup diluted with some milk stirred in, some sauted mushrooms, and some mashed carrots.  My hubby can eat the beef dish and mushrooms without blending them.  I process the cooked carrots in the blender with some Sunny D, brown sugar, and butter.  He won't eat cooked carrots, but he likes them fixed like this.  We eat a lot of sauted mushrooms, both fresh and out of the jar.  He can also eat fresh broccoli cooked just until it is tender.  I fixed three bunches last night and we ate all of it.  He likes peas and corn, but is afraid of the skin. 

I'm not scheduled to work tomorrow, and I hope I don't have to.  I need to ship a book I sold on eBay, return something I ordered from Amazon.com, get some more photos framed, and make some pies.  I also finished a hot pad and a hooded towel that I need to get listed on Etsy.  Our church is holding fish fries on the Friday's of Lent and I've been asked to bring two pies for tomorrow night.  I also want to make a cheesecake to take to my son's house on Saturday.  It is his birthday, and he likes cheesecake.  We will be celebrating his son's birthday, too, but he will have a cake. 

It was 70 degrees here yesterday afternoon.  Too warm for this time of year.  We didn't get a big storm, but we did have several minutes of intense rain during the night.  Today was cloudy and windy and felt cold compared to yesterday. 

It was a early morning, so I think I'm going to call it a day. 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About countrybydesign

blogging, photography, cooking, baking, quilting, genealogy
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to It’s spring!

  1. I'd say they are snowdrops 🙂

  2. Waterbaby says:

    I'd go with snowdrops too.

  3. Yes, it is a snowdrop. The white "petals" aren't really petals, but tepals. They depend on ants to distribute their seeds. Interesting!

  4. Yes, it is a snowdrop. They are native to Europe. The Romans took them to England.

Leave a Reply

