First day of spring. Not!

The calendar may say that it is the first day of spring, but it sure doesn't feel like it.  Rainy and cold all day today.  Did stop people from coming in and buying cakes.  There were three of us working today, but we just barely kept ahead of the orders until about 1:00.  Started on tomorrow's orders after lunch, but didn't get very far.  There will be three of us again tomorrow, so, with any luck, we should be able to finish the orders and get some cakes made for the cake case.  When we left tonight, one side of the case was completely bare. I haven't checked the weather forecast for tomorrow, but I think it is supposed to be colder rather than warmer. 

I'll try pretending it is spring.  Here's another shot of my crocus.

 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About countrybydesign

blogging, photography, cooking, baking, quilting, genealogy
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to First day of spring. Not!

  1. Wow you guys are selling a lot of cakes and that is great! Love the photos and it was in the 60s here today but we had a lot of wind.

  2. LBeeeze says:

    Pretty flower. It was so cold here today.

  3. The flower is lovely and makes me feel like it is spring. We have rain today and it is chilly again. It does not feel like spring here either! Perhaps we will get some nicer weather this week. I hope you work day goes OK. Sounds so very busy and stressful! Hang in there.

  4. I'm not sure it got out of the 30's here, but at least we didn't get any snow. My hubby's niece in KC got 10 inches of snow! It rained all day, but not hard. Just cold and wet. I think it is supposed to start warming up again tomorrow.

  5. I didn't mind working today. It was so cold and rainy. How is your job going? I check out your posts every day, but I don't always take time to comment. You come up with some good ones!

  6. It was a tad stressful today. Went in at 11:00 and made cakes as fast as I could for several hours. Several were late, but no one complained too much. We probably would have just squeaked by, but two cakes got cancelled after we already had them made. They were for a little boy's first birthday party, but he ended up in the hospital. We were able to put both cakes out in the cake case, so we weren't out anything except time.

  7. Oh, so sorry for the canceled cake!! Wish you could freeze it and that they would come pick it up when he is well! You work so hard, I don't know how you get it all done. I hope you have a day or two of rest coming soon!

  8. LBeeeze says:

    Thanks you so much!!!

  9. We were nice today, in the 70s and I got more weed killer sprayed on the weeds. It is amazing all the weeds we have now..I guess that is what happens when you get rain. lol

  10. They said they would reschedule the party when he was better, and the cake sold out of the case today to a family who was really excited about it, so all's well that ends well. I'm off tomorrow, and I need it.

  11. I'm so happy that it is working out for you. So many are still looking, or have given up. To have a good job, especially a job you really like, is a blessing.

  12. I got to come home tonight before it got dark and I was amazed at how green and tall the grass is along parts of the highway. It started out down in the 30s again this morning, but warmed up nicely. It is really hard for me to know what to pack for Hawaii. It is still long sleeve weather to me, and it does cool off at night, and it is much cooler up in the higher elevations. I bet the temps are similar to where you are.

  13. Check weather.com and see what the temps are in Hawaii…it is very humid there so it will feel warm. We are not that humid and we are in the 80s already.

  14. I'm trying to decide what to take in the line of sweaters, jackets, etc. I'll check out the weather over there tomorrow. I may do a trial pack of my suitcase to see how much room I have.

  15. I am so glad you are off and that the cake sold!! I hope you get some much needed rest, my friend. You deserve it!

  16. LBeeeze says:

    I am so very thankful. Everyday I feel thankful. I'm still pinching myself every day.

  17. Thanks! I do need a day off. I'm going to take it easy today. I took my camera out for a few minutes this morning. The dogs wanted to help me, so I'm going to wait until this afternoon as see if I can slip out without them.

  18. You deserve it, but it doesn't hurt to be grateful!

  19. I hope you had a great day!

  20. That is a great idea to do a trial pack. When I went to Rome I bought one of those plastic bags that you can take the air out so I could get more in my suite case.

  21. LBeeeze says:

    Awwww….thanks very much!!!

  22. I fixed chicken cutlets for dinner, then sat down to watch a little bit of American Idol. Two hours later, I was still watching! Figured I needed an evening of doing nothing.

  23. When we went to Alaska, I sort of did the same thing with Baggies. You could zip them most of the way closed, smash them to squeeze the air out, then finish zipping. May have to do the same thing this time.

  24. They work really well for smaller items. It's a bit harder for big items.

Leave a Reply

