Still recovering!

King K statue in Bishop Park in Hilo, HI.  We spent one day on the east side of the island, including the city of Hilo.  Bishop Park was a special place.  It was in this area that the entire Japanese settlement in the city was wiped out in the tsunami which occurred on April 1, 1946.  I would like to go back to Hilo.  The downtown area is still composed of old wooden buildings.  This side of the island gets over 100 inches of rain per year, so everything was nice and green. 

I need a vacation to recover from my vacation!  I'm not getting organized very fast.  Working everyday isn't helping matters any.  Plus I had a dentist appointment yesterday.  I don't have a day off until Sunday.  Hang on!  I have lots of pictures and stories to share. 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About countrybydesign

blogging, photography, cooking, baking, quilting, genealogy
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Still recovering!

  1. LBeeeze says:

    I can hardly wait to hear about it. So glad you had a good time!!

  2. "Hearing about it" may be a long process! But that's okay. I get to enjoy it all again as I go through the pictures. It was a great trip.

  3. No stress. Take your time, we can be patient 😉

  4. That's good! I finally get a day off tomorrow. I promise to get some loaded.

  5. Emjay says:

    I'm just getting a chance to catch up with you. The manservant gets to go to The Big Island every couple of months for work – before I had a green card I used to go with him – every island is beautiful but I think my favourite is Kauai.

  6. I was really impressed with the Big Island. I'm sure the others are pretty, too. I liked the more laid back, slower pace on the Big Island. Parts of it, along the east coast, made me think of what I think Australia would look like. Does that make sense at all? Does he go to the observatory?

Leave a Reply

