Photo Quest #92 – Best vacation photos

My photos from Hawaii are still so recent that I'm having a hard time picking just six.  Some of the compositions aren't the best, but they are of things or places that mean a lot.

 

On our first day in Kona, we were at the marina before the sun came up to be ready to board our whale watching boat.  The sun will be coming up over the volcano very soon. 

 

We saw spinner dolphins, bottlenose dolphins, a manta ray, and lots of humpback whales.  This is the only tail flip that I was able to catch. 

 

There are red hibiscus everywhere, but it is harder to find yellow ones.  I like the contrast with the purple flowers in the background. 

 

Surfer's shrine.  Surfer's come here to make offerings for gnarly waves. 

 

Lava beach at Kona. 

 

Green sea turtle, with bad lighting. 

 

We saw several waterfalls, but Rainbow Falls just west of Hilo was my favorite. 

 

Orchids at the Botanical Gardens.

 

Koi in pool at Botanical Gardens.

 

My closest brush with Mother Nature.  Taken just a second before this wave crashed up on the rock I was standing on. 

Sorry I went over the limit, but I couldn't pick just six out of about 2000!  I'll post more later on my blog. 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About countrybydesign

blogging, photography, cooking, baking, quilting, genealogy
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Photo Quest #92 – Best vacation photos

  1. Ladywise says:

    Beautiful photos CbD! Looks like it was a wonderful trip! Love the flowers!

  2. LBeeeze says:

    These are all so good. I'd love to go there. It sounds like a dream vacation.

  3. Wow, what a wonderful place to vacation. Your pictures are gorgeous and I would certainly not be able to limit it to six either. We want to see more!! The pink flower and the koi pictures are my favorite but they are all so good, it is hard to choose!

  4. anthrogrrl says:

    I was going to say the orchid was my favorite, until I saw the koi! I love the shadow on top of the water and the fish beneath — gorgeous!

  5. Thanks! I'll have to take a blog or two to post more of my flower photos. I may try uploading to Flickr again. The last time I tried, nothing happened.

  6. It is worth saving up for. We had a great time. It was the best vacation ever, even better than our trip to Alaska.

  7. Thanks! I will get more posted. I'm going to be home for a couple of days. Stay tuned!

  8. I think those two are my favorites, too. I will have to do an entire blog or two with the orchids. They were awesome!

  9. Thank you. I like the way the shadow works to bring out the color of the fish. I didn't notice that when I was taking the shot.

  10. Oh, please do. You do such a fantastic job with flowers. I would love to see what you could do with a lot of orchid pictures!

  11. I didn't even take time to get out my close up lens. I was changing focal length so often, it wouldn't have been practical. I did get some interesting one, though. I will try to get some of them posted tomorrow.

  12. Oh good. I can't wait to see them!

  13. LBeeeze says:

    I think I'd probably enjoy Hawaii more than Alaska too. Glad you had such a great time!!!

Leave a Reply

