Pink tulips and crabapples

I got home just in time for the "magic hour" before sunset when my flowers usually look their best.  Gonzo was visiting across the road, so I didn't have to worry about him "helping" me.  He is an expert at sitting right in front of me so I can't shoot anything. 

I wanted to get some more shots of the pink tulips.  I really like backlit shots, like this one. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The colors have so much more depth at this time of day.  I want to see what this one looks like as a watercolor. 

 

I'm going to have to print some of these.  I love the effect. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I didn't have to crop this one at all.  I did tweak the color and brightness a little bit. 

A good shot to show how many blossoms are on each branch, and how close together the branches are.  We should have a bumper apple crop again this year.  Yum.  More crabapple jelly! 

 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About countrybydesign

blogging, photography, cooking, baking, quilting, genealogy
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Pink tulips and crabapples

  1. Amy Sue says:

    Beautiful photos Country! I can't wait for my crabapple tree to start blooming! We're a llittle behind you! 🙂

  2. DoctorD42 says:

    Truly lovely photos!

  3. As remember, your tree was beautiful last year, too. It looks like it is snowing this morning. The petals are slowing drifting to the ground. Pretty!
    I haven't watched the national weather in ages. Are you warming up,too? It is supposed to be in the 80s here today.

  4. Thank you, Doctor D. Sorry I haven't been commenting on your page recently. I'm having a hard time catching up!

  5. Amy Sue says:

    Right now (3:00 PM) it's 35 degrees and rainy. We actually had a little snow mixed with the rain earlier. Hopefully in a few weeks it will really start to warm up! I do have buds on the crab apple tree…so the rain is probably a good thing. 🙂

  6. We could use a shower. It hasn't rained since Good Friday.

  7. LBeeeze says:

    They're all so beautiful. I miss having flowers. The deer are so bad here that it just isn't worth it for me.

  8. Do some on-line research. I know there are a number of plants that deer don't like. I looked it up when our daughter was living in Virginia and had deer in her backyard all the time.

  9. LBeeeze says:

    Believe it or not, I did a lot of research, and they still ate everything. They cut right through my yard to go into and out of the the woods behind my house, so they munch along the way. They even eat the plants that are supposed to be poisonous to them. They even ate my vinca!!!

  10. Wow! Your deer must have cast iron stomachs. Wonder if it is survival of the fitest? Does natural selection favor those who can eat everything? I don't blame you for giving up! What a shame.

  11. LBeeeze says:

    We do have LOTS of deer here, and of course they have no predators, so I think you're right. I used to spend a lot of time trying to keep up the yard and grow different kinds of plants, but it got very discouraging. I do enjoy where I live though. There are lots of positive things.

  12. Same here. We are out in the boonies with no cell phone or high speed internet service, but I love it.

Leave a Reply

