Photo Quest #93 – Self Portrait

I had fun with this, although I didn't get very creative with the photo session.  Just straight up shots in the mirror of my bathroom with the lights on and the flash off.  I tried getting creative shooting off the shower doors, but that didn't work very well. 

 

I did do a bit of experimenting with effects and filters.  Here's a negative image.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Here's another shot with a film grain effect. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I think this one

is my favorite.  It is a watercolor filter. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I like the dreamy look and feel of this one, too.  It is done with tints and transparencies. 

 

Maybe this one is my favorite.  It does make me look younger. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Now that I know how to do self portraits, I may have to get creative with hair styles, hats, etc.  Thanks for the challenge, Maureen! 

Read and post comments

About countrybydesign

blogging, photography, cooking, baking, quilting, genealogy
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Photo Quest #93 – Self Portrait

  1. Wow, you already got it done??? You are amazing. I like the one you used the watercolor filter on as well. (what is a watercolor filter?).I have yet to even read how to do the assignment. You are waaaayyyy ahead of me! Good job. The first picture looks like an x-ray. I was a bit surprised when I saw that one šŸ™‚

  2. LBeeeze says:

    You are so brave. I don't like to have my picture taken, even when I'm doing the taking!!

  3. Great job girl! I took a few photos today but haven't downloaded them yet. You are so creative. I like the last one the best.

  4. I Microsoft Picture It!, I have an editing option called "effects". In the drop down menu is the option "Filters". One of the filters is watercolor. Reading the link that Maureen provided gave me the idea on how to set up the shot so I would be in it, but not the camera. I don't have a remote shutter. The first one is way weird, isn't it!

  5. Take a picture of your hand or your feet. That counts as a self portrait.

  6. Thanks, gf! I like the last one best, too. It has a dreamy, soft look that I really like.

  7. Yes, the first one is different. I need to read what Maureen posted for us to read so I can take pictures for the quest. Maye tomorrow! Love you!

  8. You are welcome…can't wait to see what else you will do with this quest.

  9. You're great feet photos would count. Any body part counts as a self portrait. The link from Maureen is has great information.

  10. I may try filtering the watercolor one to make it softer. But I like the expression in the last one, so I may quit while I'm ahead!

  11. Yes, I am going to read it this afternoon. I am behind due to my son's activities but I see that many of you have already completed the project. WOW!

  12. I know what you mean…sometimes we over do things and end up with something we don't like. I'm going to try to take a few more photos and then do an avatar.

  13. I would say that your son's activities are more important, but do enter if you can.

  14. I like the avatar that you use now, but I'm sure you will come up with another good one.

  15. LBeeeze says:

    Hahahahahahaha…especially because I talk with my hands.

  16. LBeeeze says:

    I'll have to do that!!

  17. Thanks Country…check out the one I just posted, I think it is a hoot.

Leave a Reply

