Shoes on Parade

What do your shoes say about you?  Can you tell anything about your personality from your shoes?  Here's the line-up I had in my bedroom today after I collected all the shoes I had left behind in different parts of the house, except for my work shoes which I leave in the bathroom, and my garden shoes which stay by the back door.  What would you say?  Boring?  Old?  Old-fashioned?  More interested in comfort than in style?  Right on all accounts!

It started out cold again this morning, so I worked on some stuff around the house.  Laundry and bills.  Finally filled out my camp application.  Made some phone calls.  Downloaded my work schedule for another week.  Etc.  Then this afternoon I went out to work on my flower bed.  It was so dry that I gave up after an hour or so.  I did get one end fixed up the way I wanted it and mulched.  Hope it rains!  I want to buy some more flowers this year instead of planting seed so I know what I'm getting and don't have to wait so long.  But I'm going to wait for rain.  I want to plant some hibiscus.  They are so pretty.  Don't know how they will do out here, but I'm going to try. 

Tonight I finished making a little dress for my youngest granddaugher, except for the buttons and button holes.  It is going to be cute.  I'm going to give it to her on her birthday. 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About countrybydesign

blogging, photography, cooking, baking, quilting, genealogy
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Shoes on Parade

  1. What a great idea for a post!! What I notice is: you like comfortable shoes, maybe because you stand so much? You have two pairs of green crock type shoes. But my very favorite are the bright pink ones. They look out of place in the lineup but that is what makes them great. You must wear them when you go out and are dressed up? They look festive to me!If I were to line up my shoes, you would see a lot of pretty shoes that I rarely get to wear. I should line up my slippers first 🙂 But I get my shoes from Aerosole due to my foot problem. They are lovely shoes and are very comfortable for when I actually go somewhere. Maybe we should all have a shoe day and take a picture like you did and get comments. That was quite fun!! Kudos for originality, CBD!

  2. Perhaps we will have to ask Maureen to do a post along the lines of "show us the shoes that define your personality".
    You are right. Comfort is number one in my shoe book. I have wide feet, and a lot of shoe companies don't make shoes that are wide enough. Crocs are great. There are a couple of pairs of Naturalizers. I can order them on line and they always fit. The bright pink ones are really a rosy red, and they are my work shoes! Actually, the shoes I wear to work now are just like this pair, only a different color. This red pair is the third pair of canvas Mary Janes that I've ordered from L.L. Bean. They are just about the only shoes that I can wear for 10 to 12 hours while working on my feet for 8 hours. You would think I would need a shoe with a lot of support, but shoes like these work best. I do own 3 pairs of heels that I keep in boxes in the closet because I wear them so infrequently. All Naturalizers. It's hard to work or enjoy yourself when your feet hurt!

  3. You are so right! I can only wear heels from Aerosole. And I so rarely go to an occasion that calls for heels that my poor lovely shoes are stuck in the closet. When I do go to an event that my children are in, I usually dress up just for the fun of it 🙂 My daughter is in a play this coming week, so I will get to dress up for the performance I go to!I think it is a great idea for Maureen and a photo quest!!

  4. I sent Maureen a message about our idea for a photo quest!

  5. I don't mind getting dressed up for special occasions, but I just can't walk very far in heels anymore.

  6. Good! I think it would be fun.

  7. Trailblazer says:

    Tiny Feet! Or is that my poor eyesight? If Maureen does a Quest I could do a video on shoes – but there are some who might have a foot fetish and be more than amused:)

  8. I could be a row of doll shoes, couldn't it? There is nothing there for scale. Bet you could come up with some interesting shots.

  9. Wow you have a lot of shoes…I don't think I have this many shoes…well maybe, I just have never counted them or put them together. I think your shoes say you are very comfortable in your life.

  10. You know I did a Quest on shoes a few months back…don't think I got a lot of entries.

  11. I did a photo quest on shoes a few months back. I'll have to take a look at it. I don't think there were a lot of entries.

  12. Ok. Just wondering after Country By Design took a picture of her shoes and it was really great.

  13. Yes, you did do a shoe Quest some time ago, with very few entries. I know I entered a photo of a couple of pairs of mine highlighted by the sun shining through the crack between the door and the door frame.
    That is very insightful. I am comfortable in my life right now.

  14. Yes, this is the one I was thinking about. I really liked your photo as the lighting was so interesting. Doesn't mean I can't do this one again.

  15. No worries, we can do this one again.

  16. Perhaps you could make it more specific. Like shoes that tell a story, or reflect your life.

Leave a Reply

