Bougainvilleas in Hawaii

Here is another bougainvilleas that shows the small white flowers.  On most plants, that flowers are designed to attract bees or butterflies for pollenation.  Why are these so small?  How do they get pollenated? 

There were lots of bees on the coffee tree blooms, but I was told they are pollenated by the wind. 

 

Another red hibiscus with a watercolor filter.  The state flower of Hawaii used to be the hibiscus.  Now it is the yellow hibiscus. 

 

Orchids are almost as common in Hawaii as petunias are over here.  Well, not really.  Hibiscus are a common as petunias are over here.  Orchids are a bit harder to find, but are quite common.  This one was in the planting around our condo.  I like the way the flower is in focus and the background so unfocused. 

We had another nice day today.  Mostly cloudy but warm.  I ran into a few showers on my way home.  More in the forecast for the next few days.  My peas are coming up in the garden, but nothing else, yet.  My iris have buds, but no blooms, yet. 

Not too busy today at work.  I finished today's cakes, all but one of tomorrow's cakes, and started on Friday's orders.  We don't like to do them more than one day in advance, but we are getting so busy that we can't do that many cakes in one day.  May is our busiest month.  First communion cakes this weekend.  Mother's Day next weekend.  And then high school graduation cakes.  It would be interesting to know just how many cakes we make in the month of May, but it would take too much time to count!  We are supposed to be getting another decorator this weekend that we won't have to train.  That will be nice! 

Bedtime already.  Toodles!

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About countrybydesign

blogging, photography, cooking, baking, quilting, genealogy
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Bougainvilleas in Hawaii

  1. Emjay says:

    Beautiful flowers – I wonder why they changed the State flower? It sounds as though you are going to be really busy at work!

  2. These are such lovely pictures! Wow. I cannot imagine living around such beauty all year round, can you? And the weather being so nice. Sounds like paradise. I made comments on a few of the flowers. I am so impressed with your photography! You have outdone yourself here 🙂

  3. I read it, but I'm not sure I can remember it. I think it is because the yellow one is the only one that is native to Hawaii. Guess I should check on that.

  4. Thanks for all your nice comments! It is like paradise. I don't know what season it was over there. How can you have seasons when the weather never changes? I do know that the passionfruit were not "in season". I am already making plans to go back. I love it over there.

  5. My neighbor once said that everyone should go at least once. It sounds just lovely! I am so happy you got to go and I am enjoying your wonderful pictures!

  6. I am so thankful that I got to go. It is wonderful. I've still got lots more pictures to share.

  7. I am enjoying the pictures so much. I like that you are posting them a few at a time, for us to savor 🙂

  8. And I get to enjoy them all over again!

  9. Yes. And I love sharing them.

  10. Waterbaby says:

    "Why are these so small? How do they get pollenated?" I don't understand the question. They're pollinated by bees.

  11. That would have been my guess, too, except when we were at the coffee farm where there were lots of bees, I was told the coffee blossoms are pollenated by the wind. In the greater scheme of natural selection, those flowers who do the best job of attracting pollenators and the ones that survive. Those are usually the large, showy one. If you depend on wind and not bees, then size and color isn't so important.

  12. Waterbaby says:

    Someone at the coffee farm is ill informed and had better do some studying of bougainvillea. The flower draws bees with its colorful blooms called bracts (leaves that have evolved to lure pollinators). It's always smart to question dubious information, which is what you got at the coffee farm.

  13. Ah! That makes sense. I don't always believe everything I hear, especially when the coffee blooms were swarming with bees. Are the leaves on poinsettias also called bracts? I took one botany class, but that was a long time ago.

  14. Waterbaby says:

    You didn't use the "reply" button so I didn't know you'd commented, I just happened to swing in and find this. Now I can answer your question. A bract is a leaf borne on a floral axis. They're evolutionary modified leaves designed to attract pollinators when other floral elements cannot. Yes, poinsettia leaves are bracts.

  15. Are there other plants that have bracts to attract pollinators? Sorry I missed the reply button. I'm so glad my Vox neighbors can help me with my plant questions. I still need to send a photo of that yellow flower to someone to see if they can identify it. The foliage is very distinctive.

  16. Waterbaby says:

    Of course, many plants do. I'm not a horticulturist or botanist so I couldn't name any off the top of my head. 🙂

  17. Waterbaby says:

    p.s. I scrolled to the yellow flower in question and immediately thought nasturium. I could be wrong. I'm no botanist. 😉

  18. The leaves are wrong. Nasturtium have a very distinctive wide round leaf that attaches to the stem in the middle instead of at the edge. This yellow flower has fern like foliage.

  19. Waterbaby says:

    Ah, see what you mean; perhaps a variety of Cosmos?

  20. Perhaps. The foliage and the flowers are very similar. The growth habits are different, but the climate could do that. In Hawaii, they spread out and grow close to the ground.

  21. Yes, I think you've got it! Congratulations! I knew I had grown plants with similar foliage, but it has been a couple of years. Perhaps the rocky soil and windy climate have forced them to grow closer to the ground than they do here. They are native to Mexico.

Leave a Reply

