My plants are confused!

Here it is the 29th of April and my poinsettia is still looking great!  I'm going to take it outside and plant it in my flower bed and see what happens. 

 

And my Christmas cactus is blooming, again!  Not as many as at Christmas, but I don't ever remember a year when they have bloomed twice.  I need to move them out on the porch for the summer.  I move most of my houseplants out to my screened-in porch for the summer.  It is on the east side of the house, so they are protected from the sun and wind. 

Nice are warm today, but windy!  Rain in the forecast again for tomorrow. 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About countrybydesign

blogging, photography, cooking, baking, quilting, genealogy
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to My plants are confused!

  1. How strange that you posted that on the same evening that JamesG posted that he went to the park and there were leaves that had turned yellow like in the fall!!The bloom on your cactus is amazing! Wow. I never have seen a poinsetta planted outside. I wonder how it will do?Take some more pictures of that lovely cactus bloom while it is still there. The color is wonderful!!

  2. Waterbaby says:

    On behalf of the poinsettia, have you researched the conditions it requires? They're sensitive plants.

  3. No, I haven't checked into the requirements for an outdoor poinsettia, but they grow outside in Mexico, at least. I'll at least move it out to the porch.

  4. Leaves on trees will turn yellow or brown at any time of year if they are under stress of some kind. Wonder what's going on.
    Poinsettias grow outside in their native land of Mexico. I'll have to check to see if they will survive outside here.
    I'll try to get some more cactus shots. The color is amazing.

  5. Waterbaby says:

    I don't understand what their presence outside Mexico has to do with their required conditions. It is a sensitive plant that will meet certain demise unless in proper conditions. On behalf of the plant, I'm providing a link.

  6. Yes, I love the cactus flower….the pink is brilliant!

  7. If it's any "consolation" my Christmas cactus more or less blooms all year.I think it totally degenerated – or just plain loves standing in the window.

  8. Okay, it is a bit more sensitive than I thought it was. I have never been able to keep one alive this long before. So, I won't move it out into the flower bed, unless it's in a shady place. How do they survive outdoors in Mexico if they need cooler temperatures? Do they only grow at higher elevations?

  9. Maybe the weather pattern has something to do with it. It has been rather cool in our house recently.

  10. Waterbaby says:

    With all your questions from post to post, I'm gonna start charging for my research time and energy! Poinsettia are native to Mexico and Central America. In subtropical and tropical climates, they grow into small trees 15 feet tall or more. Outside their native conditions and in cold climates, they must be potted and given the right conditions if they are to survive and thrive.

  11. I do appreciate having a resident expert! Thanks for all your information. How do they bloom in their native setting outside if they require so many hours of darkness to bloom indoors?

  12. Waterbaby says:

    When pot-bound, they're kept in darkness in order to recolor for the winter season. You're on your own for future questions, kiddo. 😉

  13. Thanks for putting up with me! I know I can be a pain. I appreciate all the information.

  14. Waterbaby says:

    I had to draw the line at continuing the educational legwork for another. Your learning needs to be at your initiative to learn, not mine.

  15. Waterbaby says:

    that should read: Your learning needs to be at your initiative, not mine.

  16. Point well taken. I did try doing some research on the fencing issue, but wasn't coming up with much. Sounds like a rainy day project! I doubt if I will have the same problem with poinsettias!

Leave a Reply

