Dining on Hawaii

No photos here.  By the time we stopped to eat each night, I was too tired to take any more photos.  Next time! 

It was after midnight our time when we landed in Kona on Sunday, but my daugher and her husband had grilled some fish and fixed a salad and grilled veggies.  It was good, even though we had eaten a light meal in Los Angeles. 

On Monday night, we went up to Roy's Waikoloa Bar and Grill in Waikoloa.  This was the dressiest place we went to, and the service was above and beyond anything I had ever experienced.  The hostess not only pulled out our chairs, she unfolded our napkins and laid them on our laps!  I had pot stickers and salmon, both very good.  Roy won one of the cooking show challenges, so some of the food is a bit over the edge, but the experience was wonderful. 

On Tuesday night, we were up north so we stopped at Somlimenes in Kamuela, an little Italian place.  Don't know how they got there, but the food was good.  I had a huge salad and a veggie pizza. 

I had wanted to go somewhere with entertainment at least one night, so on Wednesday we went to Huggo's.  It is right on the ocean in Kona.   It was fish tacos here.  I can't remember what I had with them.  This would be a wonderful place to come at sunset, but I bet it is really busy then.  We only had to wait a few minutes for a table, but it was dark by the time we got there.

On Thursday, our primary concern was getting something good before we went to the airport, so we picked Quinn's Almost-By-the-Sea.  Good choice.  No ocean views here, but the covered patio was nice, and the fish special was very special.  Like most places in Kona, they have very limited parking. 

I don't eat out here at home, so I really don't know how the prices compare to similar establishments here.  We could have saved quite a bit of money by not eating out, but that was part of the experience.  It was our food and our evening entertainment since it was always late by the time we got around to eating. 

Except for our whale watching excursion, most of the other things we did were free or not too expensive.  I think it cost $15 to enter the Botanical Gardens.  So it is possible to go there and not spend a lot of money, if you are willing to do your own cooking. 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About countrybydesign

blogging, photography, cooking, baking, quilting, genealogy
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Dining on Hawaii

  1. Your meals sound varied and delicious. You seem to have experienced a lot of the culture while you were there. I am so glad that things worked out so well. Did you see any shows during dinner? Any Hawaiian dancers?

  2. Emjay says:

    I agree that eating out is part of the vacation experience. Hawaii'i has so many other free activities – beaches, walks, volcano etc.

  3. LBeeeze says:

    What a wonderful trip.

  4. They had a local duo providing music at Huggo's, and for their first set they had a traditional hula dancer, not the kind you think of. I would have liked to have done more cultural things, especially music. Next time!

  5. Yes, you can keep busy without spending a lot of money. We didn't go on any of the nature walks. My knee was acting up again. And we didn't spend much time at the beach. Next time!

  6. Oh, it was! You should start planning a trip. I had always wanted to go, but didn't think I would ever get the chance. It is amazing.

  7. LBeeeze says:

    It does sound so amazing.

  8. And the things that I found most amazing aren't the things that usually show up in travel brochures.

  9. LBeeeze says:

    I'm sure it would be that way for me too.

  10. ive lived here 10 years and have yet to make it to the Big Island of Hawaii. My husband is planning on taking me sometime this year. I cant wait to see it. Did you fly here to oahu at all?

  11. Gees these photos are beautiful…sorry I'm so late in seeing them. Been way to busy. Your photography is amazing girl.

  12. I did get some amazing shots in Hawaii. You were right. It was wonderful. I would love to go back sometime. Now I'm going to have to wait until I get my knee replaced and get back on my feet.

  13. Oh I didn't know you had to have knee surgery…I'm so sorry you must be in pain all the time.

  14. I was hoping to put it off for awhile, 'cause I don't want to be laid up, but I'm in pain most of the time, even when I don't try to bend my knee. It feels fine when I'm sitting down, but I don't think I'm ready for a wheelchair yet!

  15. Darn I'm so sorry to hear about your knee problem….a lot of use sr citizens have knee issues..so far I'm OK but my old knees to talk to me when I bend down to take photos.

  16. Mine have been bothering me off and on for years. I've even been to the doctor a couple of times, but this time he told me there is no cartilage left. I have an appointment next Tuesday to talk about setting up surgery. Hope yours hold up for a few more years.

  17. What did the doc say about knee surgery? I sure hope mine hold up for a long time.

  18. He says I need it because I don't have any cartilage left. I can postpone it, but I can't fix my knee, only replace it. I go back to the doctor on the 15th.

  19. Gees that isn't much of a choice…why are you going back on the 15th?

  20. To see if he wants to try the injections, or just go ahead and schedule surgery. I'm ready to do the surgery, and I think he is, too.

  21. Do the injections just buy some time or can they help with the pain?

  22. If my left knee starts hurting, I might try the injections just to buy some time. They do help with the pain, too. I would have tried the injections for my right knee, but I knew it was completely shot, and didn't think the injections would keep me going for another two years. I was afraid I would be so out of shape by then that it would take forever to recover.

  23. Yikes so both of your knees were bad…wow I'm OK so far but it is probably just a matter of time.

  24. So far, I think my left knee is holding up. I was putting a lot of extra stress on it while I was favoring my right knee. I'm going to start physical therapy this week to make sure I'm doing the right things to get both knees strong again. My x-rays this morning were perfect. It was amazing.

  25. Yea, keep up the good work girl!

Leave a Reply

