Early morning rainbow

Early yesterday morning, I noticed that the sky was an unusual color and wanted to see if I could capture it on film, but I was running late for work, and I could see a big storm heading our way.  When I saw this early morning rainbow, I went back in for my camera.  I didn't do any editing so the rainbow is hard to see.  It looks like a pink streak just to the right of the tree.  Soon it turned into a double rainbow, much brighter than this picture.  It was odd in a couple of ways.  As far as I can remember, this is the first time I have ever seen a rainbow in the morning in the west before the rain.  All of the other rainbows I have seen have been in the east, in the afternoon, after the rain.  As I drove down the road, I was able to watch the rainbow for several miles.  This was the first time that the rainbow came to an end in front of the trees.  Always before, it disappeared behind the tree line. 

 

 

 

 

Thanks to Anna for bringing my "Culture" page honor to my attention.  This is the third time I have been featured.  Mary Dawson, one of my neighbors, is also featured today.  Congratulations, Mary! 

I went to the doctor today to find out why my knee has been killing me.  It didn't take long for him to see that I don't have any cartilage left in my right knee.  No wonder it hurt all the time! 

He gave me a cortisone shot, and a prescription for some stronger pain meds.  Ultimately I will need to get the knee replaced, but he is willing to try joint fluid treatments with hyaluronic acid to try to buy some more time.  I don't want to last longer than my new knee!  He also wants me to lose some more weight before he operates.  I managed to lose 8 pounds earlier this year, but I've found half of it back again.  LOL  But facing upcoming surgery may be the motivation I need to be serious about knocking off a few more pounds.  Ironically, I got an email today from a first cousin of  mine who is my age, and she is facing the same problem.  Her mom and dad are both in their 90s, so we have the possibility of being around for quite a few years yet. 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About countrybydesign

blogging, photography, cooking, baking, quilting, genealogy
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Early morning rainbow

  1. Your picture is beautiful. I noticed, a few years ago, when there was a volcano in another part of the world, that it affected our sky and we had brilliant colors like you are seeing. I had no idea something so far away could affect us. I wonder about your sky?

  2. LBeeeze says:

    Wow….what a cool photo. The sky looks so pink.

  3. Could be, but I think it was the storm coming in from the west. We don't often get storms that early in the morning. I should have taken time to take more photos.

  4. I remember the sky being an unusual color, but not pink! I don't think I've even seen a pink sky before.
    We missed most of the stormy weather. My daughter who lives there in Valley Park was telling us about it. I'm not sure she saw the tornado. They were in their basement.
    The week before, our youngest daughter was out in it, not far from Ballas and 141. She managed to pull under an overpass and waited for it to calm down a little bit.
    We got some rain and some wind, but not damage.

  5. LBeeeze says:

    It might be my monitor that give it a pinkish glow.

  6. No, it is definitely pink!

  7. It is pink on mine, too, and on my photo edting program.

  8. LBeeeze says:

    Phew….thanks for confirming that!! I thought maybe my monitor was off.

  9. LBeeeze says:

    Cool!!! It's good to know my monitor isn't way off. It's such a pretty pink!!

  10. And so unusual for a morning sky.

Leave a Reply

