Some iris and my new flowers

One of the areas I planted yesterday and today.  I planted the impatients last night and the Dusty Miller this morning.  The trellis in the left hand side of the photo is for one of my dahlias. Want to make sure I start tying them up right away this year.

 

One of my light pink iris.  I have several of them this year.  They are doing really well. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Backlit iris.

 

I like these light blue ones, too.  I only have a couple of them.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I like the way these vince blooms unfold.  They are pink on top and white underneath.  I also planted petunias in several planters, but I forgot to take any pictures of them.  They will look better in a couple of days anyway.  I also dug up all my Shasta daisies and moved them.  There are a few more things I would like to move, but they will have to wait.  I also planted some more bulbs/roots, including some phlox and lily of the valley.  Hope they grow! 

I did do some paperwork and some laundry today, and wrapped some birthday presents.  Three of our grandkids are celebrating birthdays on Saturday.  I will make their cakes tomorrow. 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About countrybydesign

blogging, photography, cooking, baking, quilting, genealogy
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Some iris and my new flowers

  1. LBeeeze says:

    Those irises are sooooooooo beautiful!!!

  2. What lovely flowers!! Wow, are you making THREE birthday cakes. Please take pictures!! I love your light pink Iris. I have not seen that color before in the Iris. I hope you can take some pictures of the birthday parties as well, if you don't mind posting things like that 😉 Have a wonderful tme!

  3. Wish I could grow other flowers as well as I can grow iris, but, at least I have one thing that does good! Guess I should get some more of them.

  4. I didn't get the three cakes made today. I ran out of steam. My knee was bothering me, and I just didn't have any get up and go. So I will have to get up early tomorrow and get to work early so I can get them made before 10:00. I'll try to get some party pictures, too, but parties with 13 odd kids are pretty unorganized! Plus it may be too cool here tomorrow to spend much time outside.
    I don't know if I have ever seen pale pink iris anywhere else either. I've seen pale yellow ones, but I like the pink ones better.

  5. Oh, good luck on the cakes. Wish I was there to help you. That is a lot to get done before 10am!!! So sorry your knee is hurting again. You are like me….when we feel better, we do a whole lot, and then our bodies fuss at us :-)I hope the party goes well with so many children!! Wow. You are a brave grandmother to take on so much!!

  6. LBeeeze says:

    My very sweet next door neighbor planted some purplely-blue ones in my flower bed a couple years ago. For now I've given up trying tp plant anything new for the deer to eat, but they don't eat these. They were so beautiful last Spring. I need to get around that side of the house and peek on them (I've been working longer hours lately, so haven't been out and about as much).

  7. The party wasn't at my house and all I had to do was make the cakes, and I even got paid for doing it 'cause she ordered them from Wal-Mart! I got some pictures, which I will post soon.
    I went in early so I was able to leave early and not miss too much of the party. We were busy, but there were three of us, so we got a lot done.

  8. I have more of the standard purple ones than anything else, but they are pretty, too. Hope you got to enjoy yours today.

  9. LBeeeze says:

    I did go out and take a look at them. Most are gone now (I've been working longer hours, so I missed them at their peak, but the ones that are left are very pretty, thank you!!

  10. Usually, the darker colors open first, followed by the lighter colors. Glad you got to at least see them. Bet the Botanical Gardens is pretty this time of year.

  11. Good job and I hope you were able to enjoy the party without too much knee pain. Your cakes are wonderful as usual. You are quite talented 🙂

  12. I was! I took it easy on Saturday and didn't try to bend my knee so much. I'm supposed to be able to walk normally, but I still have too much pain. If I keep it straight most of the time, the meds that away the dull ache that I had so that I feel a lot better. I can do some normal walking, but not too much. Darn! I was hoping to get on one of those dancing shows. LOL

  13. Hahahaha!! You are much too busy to fool with those dancing shows. Goodness, between your planting flowers and decorating cakes, making dresses for granchildren, and helping with birthday parties….I am not sure how you find time to work at Wal-mart! You are amazing.

  14. All my cake decorating is done at work. I tried making one at home and it was terrible! Having the right equipment makes all the difference.
    You are amazing, too. I don't have to keep up with children any more. I used to have dirty dishes in the sink, dirty clothes everywhere, clean clothes in a line of clothes baskets, etc. The only thing I was good at was keeping track of the kid's stuff. I didn't try to put it away, but I could instantly remember where I had seen it. It was a talent that was put to good use at least once every day!

  15. Oh yes, when the calls start, "Mom, where is my………"

  16. Good for you for teaching/allowing your children to do their own laundry, etc. Leaving home will be much easier for them. My children had been my housekeepers for so many years that when they all left home, I didn't know where to start. They did a better job of keeping the shower clean than I do.

  17. I know what you mean. I loved it when Shout came out with "Color Catcher Laundry Sheets" that can be thrown in the wash for when lights and darks are washed together. A saving grace for kids doing laundry!

  18. I always discouraged the kids from buying anything red. Too easy to make a mistake!

  19. Yes, the "color catcher" takes care of any dye that gets into the water!!

Leave a Reply

