Little yellow dress

I made this little yellow dress for my granddaughter who is celebrating her third birthday tomorrow.  She wanted a "grandma dress", which is what the granddaugher's all call the dresses that I make for them.  This fabric has small white butterflies all over it that don't show up on the picture.  I put white rick rack around the neck, sleeves and waist.  The hem stitched with a fold is both decorative and sturdy.  It's almost impossible to pull the hem out since it is stitched into the fold. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I like to use buttons on little girl's dresses.  I bought these pretty daisy buttons for this dress. 

I don't feel like I accomplished very much today.  My knee was bothering me, and that was making my back hurt.  It's hard to do your best when you don't feel good. 

We haven't gotten any rain yet, but it has turned cooler.  We call it "blackberry winter".  It seems like it always cools off the week the blackberries bloom.  We don't have any cultivated ones, but we see wild ones growing in the road ditches and fences. 

I didn't get the three cakes made for tomorrow's party, so I'm going to have to shake a leg and get to work early tomorrow.  Perhaps I can get off early to go have some fun at the party, too!  This may be the busiest weekend we have.  Mother's Day is a "cake" holiday. 

I still have some paperwork to do, then I need to get to bed. 

Happy Mother's Day to all mother's and mother's-to-be!

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About countrybydesign

blogging, photography, cooking, baking, quilting, genealogy
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Little yellow dress

  1. Ladywise says:

    Oh CbD I love the dress! The daisy buttons set off nicely! I think you did a great job on it and your grand daughter will love it! I've always heard of blackberry winter too. I grew up in Georgia and live in Alabama now. I haven't noticed the blackberries blooming here though (it doesn't mean they aren't, I just haven't noticed! lol) and it definitely isn't cooling off any. I wish it would. It's already too hot for me. Happy Mother's Day to you too hon!

  2. LBeeeze says:

    This is such a cute little dress. I bet she'll look adorable in it. The daisy buttons really add such a nice touch.
    So sorry to hear that your knee is bothering your so much.
    I hope you have a wonderful Mother's Day.

  3. This dress is precious!! The buttons, the rickrack!! I love it and so will your granddaughter!! I hope you can show us a picture of her wearing it šŸ™‚ Have a wonderful Mother's Day, and I hope the birthday party goes smoothly. You can always put all their names on one cake if you get desperate!!

  4. anna says:

    That dress is so cute! You are very talented!

  5. I didn't get to see E in her new dress. She was too busy playing with her cousins to try it on. I think it did turn out cute.
    We had temps down in the 30s this morning. I covered up our tomato plants last night. Some at church this morning said they had frost. It has warmed up some today, but a jacket feels good.

  6. I hope I can get a picture of E in her new dress. I think she will look cute.
    I'm taking it easy today. Wish it were just a little bit warmer!

  7. Ladywise says:

    Well, I spoke to soon the other day. It dropped down in the 40's last night and is supposed to do it again the next couple of nights. I thought about what you said as soon as I felt the cool air. Blackberry winter is here!

  8. Thanks for your nice comments on the dress. I have been sewing since I was 9 or 10, and I still enjoy it. At one point in time, I wanted to try making a living making custom made dresses for little girls. My oldest daughter's girls all loved their "grandma" dresses.
    Since I went in early, I had plenty of time to do the cakes. They didn't care about their names, so I left them off. Sometimes it ruins the design of the cake to put a name on it.

  9. Thank you! I think I might be better off if I didn't enjoy doing to many different things, I could just concentrate on one thing, like cooking or sewing. But I like to do it all, almost! Everytime I read one of your posts, it makes me want to spend more time baking, but I eat too much of everything I make. I need to figure out some way to sell it so I won't be tempted to eat it!

  10. It is a bit warmer here this afternoon, but still cool enough that I want a jacket. Don't think I'm ready for 90 degrees, either. I'd rather wear a jacket!

  11. LBeeeze says:

    Dang!!! It was downright cold this morning. Looking forward to pics of E in her bright yellow dress!!

  12. I know! I am, too. Hopefully she will wear it soon so I can take a picture.

  13. I love the dress! I tried to sell smocked dresses at one time and there was no way to make the money for the time involved….not when people can get them from the Philippines for so little money.

  14. I can make the little dresses in a couple of hours, but you are right. You can buy them so cheaply from Wal-Mart or Target, that it would be hard to make a living selling them. I don't mind making them, but I enjoy the creativity of quilting more.

Leave a Reply

