First day of June!

First, to all my neighbors whom I have been neglecting, I'm sorry.  I just haven't been able to keep up with everything. 

Second, if this doesn't go anywhere after the first picture, it's 'cause I'm having issues with Vow.  This is my second and last attempt to make this work. 

We got up early (3:15 am) yesterday to begin our Memorial Day celebration.  We were on the road by 3:45.  First stop was here, at Yocum Pond Cemetery. 

Most of my dad's family is buried here. 

My grandfather who died when my dad was two years old, leaving my dad and his 10 siblings and their mother.  Times were hard. 

My grandmother lived until I was 11, so I remember her, but I didn't really know her. 

Next stop was my aunt and uncle's house.  All of my first cousin's on my mother's side of the family were there.  the only one missing was my youngest brother.  Here's the motley crew.

None of us are spring chickens anymore!

Here's my favorite photo of the day, my aunt, who is my mother's twin sister, and my hubby.  She celebrated her 94 birthday earlier this year.  She is slowing down, but she is still sharp as a tack.

Hope everyone had a great holiday weekend!

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About countrybydesign

blogging, photography, cooking, baking, quilting, genealogy
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to First day of June!

  1. Karen says:

    It looks like a wonderful day, with family and memories! I wouldn't worry about commenting and all that. We do what we can do! I have two other blogs I maintain and have thought about leaving vox but I just can't because I enjoy the friends I have here (like you!) and I like to keep up even if it's only once a week.

  2. Emjay says:

    Cemeteries are such interesting places – so much history and so many stories in those headstones. Wow! That must have been incredibly hard for your grandmother to be left with all those children – I suppose the children just had to do what they could to help support the household. Thank you for sharing some of your family history – your aunt is a sprightly looking lady.

  3. I doubt if it was all that uncommon. A lot of folks died young. Often, they would remarry. My dad's brother was 17 at that time, so I'm thinking he took over the family. The oldest girl got married and had her first baby soon after my dad was born. Living on a farm made it easier to come by food. My dad could kill squirrels with rocks to save the bullets.

Leave a Reply

