More camp information

I have been trying to catch up with my neighbors since returning from Camp Quality, but it has been slow going.  I worked nine hours on Saturday, went to Mass, came home, took and shower, then went to a graduation party.  Came home and went straight to bed, got up this morning, and was back at work by 7:00 am.  I did get home earlier tonight, but I am still tired. 

A little bit about my camp experience.  Camp Quality is an international camping experience for kids with cancer up to age 18.  It isn't exactly roughing it.  The kids and their companions (each camper has an adult companion) sleep in air conditioned cabins.  The dining hall is also air conditioned.  They do participate in activities during the day, most of which take place outdoors.  They all take naps after lunch, then go swimming for an hour.  The camp is for kids with cancer and their siblings, so it gives parents a whole week to themselves, as well as giving the siblings a week where they are special, too.  This year we had 25 campers, with 25 companions, and about 25 support staff, including 7 in the kitchen.  I'm in charge of making out the menus and ordering the food.  We serve a lot of fresh fruit and vegetables, so several hours each day are spent doing prep work. We try to serve kid friendly meals, but also meals that will appeal to the companions since they don't get paid.  We try to at least make sure they don't go hungry! 

If any of you have experience cooking for a crowd, and have any recipes or menus you would like to share, I would love to hear from you.  I try to work on next year's menus soon after camp is over while I can still remember what worked and what didn't.  We did really well this year on our quantities.  The items that were left over were donated to a local food pantry. 

If anyone has a group in the St. Louis area that needs a facility for a camp, Camp Woodland Hills at St. Clair is very nice.  It is far enough off the beaten path that you feel like you are out in the middle of nowhere.  The facilities are very nice.  The kitchen is well equipped.  I did bring a glass 2 cup measuring cup that I use all the time, but that is all. 

Bedtime already.  Glad I don't have to get up early ini the morning.  I'm going to sleep in, for sure! 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About countrybydesign

blogging, photography, cooking, baking, quilting, genealogy
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to More camp information

  1. Hope you have a great rest. Sounds like you sure need it after all of that!I'm not much of one for recipes, unfortunately.

  2. Ladywise says:

    That is so awesome CbD. It sounds like it was wonderful even if you were working. I'll have to think about the recipes. I used to cook for large groups a lot, but it's been a long time since I cooked at all.

  3. Wow! I am truly impressed that you can bring up the energy to help with something like that camp in addition to daily life. And such a great cause!I have no clue about the cooking – so I'll leave that to others 😛

  4. Karen says:

    What a great experience! That's the kind of job I'd love to do for a few weeks.

  5. What a wonderful camp!!! Did you volunteer to work there? It sounds like an amazing thing for the suffering families.

  6. Today is the first day in a couple to weeks that I didn't have to go anywhere. It is so nice to just stay home, although I did have a lot of catching up to do. Not sure I will make it through my "to-do" list today, but I've done most of it.

  7. Let me know if you they of anything. I'm going to try to get organized for next year while I'm recovering from my surgery.

  8. It really is a great cause, and a position that most people aren't qualified to take on. The planning is the hardest part. I have some really good help when it comes to doing the work.

  9. It is a very good cause. You might check on their web site. They might have a camp near you. I had never heard of them before I met Erin.

  10. It is a wonderful camp. I'm so glad I was still able to help out this year. Hopefully, I will be in better shape next year. No one that works for the camp is paid. It is run entirely by volunteers.

Leave a Reply

