Suppertime and Bedtime

Most of the time, we have a barn swallow nest on our front porch.  The nicest thing about it is that we can watch it from our living room.  Here all five baby birds are waiting for their supper.  I don't know how they all fit in the nest.

I took this one from inside the house.  I didn't want to disturb them.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Later, just before dark, I took a peak at them from outside on the porch.  All five of them were sleeping.  They look like they are about to fall out of the nest. 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About countrybydesign

blogging, photography, cooking, baking, quilting, genealogy
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Suppertime and Bedtime

  1. So sweet. Amazing that you can see them from your window. I love the first picture when they are so hungry and the soft feathers show!! What a treat for you to watch.

  2. Amy Sue says:

    So sweet! We had robins in our tree last summer. I love to watch their mama feed them! 🙂

  3. Not sure where the soft, fluffy feather came from. The birds were fully fledged last night with their dark feathers. When I got home tonight, they were gone.

  4. I only got to see the parents feeding them once. I had to move the curtains to see them, and that usually scared the parents.

  5. You got the picture just in time!!!!

  6. Yes! I wish I had been paying more attention to them. They will be back next year. I'll have to set up a peep hole so I don't have to move the curtains.

  7. These are adorable…just too cute.

  8. I'll have to venture down to the big shed next summer. Hubby says it is just one big barn swallow house.

  9. Oh that sounds like a cool place to take lots of photos.

  10. I'll have to check it out. I won't be able to get as close as I can on the porch, unless there is some piece of equipment in the shed that I can climb on. I'm going to try.

  11. Be very carefull I don't want to see you get hurt trying to take some photos of the babies.

  12. You are going to have to wait until next summer to get more baby pictures. Even if they haven't all flown, I'm not going to try to walk down there and climb around, not this week anyway!

  13. I can wait no worries…you just take care of yourself.

Leave a Reply

