I’m back!

And here's the photo to prove it!

A lot of the swelling went down last night, but there is still a lot of pulling over the top of my knee.  I have very little pain as long as I sit or lie still.  I can stand and walk around for about an hour, then I've got to sit down.  I'm up to 100 degree on the ROM machine, but I can't make it move that far by myself.  Too much pulling. 

I meant to take a picture of the ladder I have to climb up to get up to my computer, but I forgot.  Next time! 

I'll try to catch up with all my neighbors ASAP.  Thanks for all your kind thoughts and prayers. 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About countrybydesign

blogging, photography, cooking, baking, quilting, genealogy
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

33 Responses to I’m back!

  1. Jesus Christ! LOL please come with a big header that says 'WARNING' first, next time you're posting a picture like that :))I am having a weak stomach when it comes to things like that.Nevertheless I hope you feel soon better and can move around freely!

  2. WOW. I am so sorry but I hope the healing is going as expected. Did they give you some good pain meds, I hope? I send you my hugs and wish I could do more to help you during your recovery, dear friend. I think all of this will be worth it when your knees do not ache and hurt as they used to.

  3. ErinGoBragh says:

    Oh, you poor thing! I somehow missed the post informing your neighbors that you were having knee replacement, so this really shocked me!

  4. hooray for you — you'll be dancing and running marathons before you know it!

  5. Holy carp! That's quite the picture to sneak up on me when I wake up from a "nap" at one am! I thought I wanted dinner still.. but… ooooo, there's a great diet idea! The post-surgery photography diet – just peruse enough photographs, and you'll never want to eat a thing!! :P(of course, actually having surgery is probably an even more effective diet, lol)Wishing you thorough and rapid healing, m'dear!

  6. Emjay says:

    It looks very much like my foot and ankle looked though I had big black thread through it. My mother joked that she thought she did better at doing up wheat bags as a 10 year old! Thankfully it does all go down! Best wishes for a speedy recovery – it sounds as though you are doing great on your PT.

  7. yancunyong says:

    I sincerely hope you'll be better day by day!

  8. Sorry! It is a bit gross. I should have added a warning label. It's looking more and more like a normal leg.

  9. Thanks so much for the love and support. My pain meds are working great. I try not to take them if I can stand the pain, so a 2 or a 3, but I'm not a great believer in suffering unless I have to. A 5 or 6 gets some more meds every time!

  10. Thanks! I haven't had much of an appetite since I had surgery, so I have lost a couple of pounds which should make it easier to get my range of motion back. I'm sure I'm better now than I was before the surgery, but still not back to 100%. Thanks for the encourageing words.

  11. It will be interesting to see if my scar is straight or runs off in a curve. Right now it's pretty funny looking. Has all of your swelling gone away?

  12. So far, I am making a little bit of improvement every day. Wish I could make it go faster. It is hard to be patient. Send me some pretty flower pictures.

  13. Emjay says:

    Yes my swelling has all gone. That foot does still swell up pretty quickly though if I'm doing a long walk. My mother had both her knees done (6 months apart) – her's looked like yours but now they look like they did before except with a little white line scar on them.

  14. OMG that looks so painful you are so brave…I sure hope this ends the pain you had.

  15. I hadn't thought about return swelling. I'm going to try to lose a few more pounds and do physical therapy to get my strength built back up. I hope to be in better shape than I was before the surgery.

  16. Good for you! I am glad you will use the meds when the pain gets too bad. I am thinking about you and hoping that you heal quickly. When will you start physical therapy?

  17. I've had a rather bum day today. I did take a walk down our road this morning, but my knee has been hurting too much for me to want to do a lot of exercising. The physical therapist comes three times a week, and we do a series of standing exercises. It doesn't take very long, but it is about all I can take. I've been trying to add a few more throughout the day today without too much luck. Plus I can only stand to lay in bed and use the ROM machine for a hour at a time. Three hours or far today and I'm supposed to be doing 4 to 6. Yuck! I think I can feel a lttle bit of your pain. My head wants to get up and go but my knee says "NO!". I don't get my staples out until next Thursday, 9 more days. I think I will go crazy. Can't start PT until then.

  18. I think it will. I'm hoping that is will be like having a baby. In a couple of weeks I will have forgotten all about the pain.

  19. Ugggg……sounds like a long recovery. I am so sorry. I hope that things get better each day. You sound determined. Hang in there. I am pulling for you!

  20. I'm going to try to think about you when I discouraged. At least I have light at the end of my tunnel. I made two huge steps today. I can sit down and stand up without assistance, and I can go down stairs without a rail. I did "hold" onto the wall on both sides, but I made it! That is really huge! My sewing machine is downstairs.

  21. That is great progress and I know it takes determination to do that!! Good for you!

  22. I had a much better day today. Just thinking about you helps.

  23. yancunyong says:

    OK, I'll take some flower photos and send them to you!

  24. Thank you, CBD. i am glad.

  25. Ha that is a good example..I hope you forget about the pain soon. Do take care dear friend.
    I have some good news I've sold three photos on Etsy now. One was a local customer that I asked to buy through Etsy. I was contacted by someone from a TV show that want to buy one of my photos and use it on the show…I hope it is legit! Maybe I will make it as a photographer! I sure need the money as I'm running out and I don't want to go back to work for someone else. I prefer working for me new boss…me!

  26. Thanks! Take some close-ups.

  27. Oh, gosh, I hope it works out for you. You are very brave for trying to get by, although I know you are much happier. Congrats on the Esty sales. I finally got my shop back online yesterday. I had put it in vacation mode while I was at the hospital.
    My hubby seems so much happier this past week, that it almost makes me want to try to make it out here, too. I know I am happier. I'm going to have to call Social Security and see what my options are.
    Were you able to find health insurance that you could afford? That will be the closer on my decision, I'm sure.

  28. My health insurance is my COBRA from my employer it is expensive $475.00 a month and is health and dental. I'm going shopping for a cheaper policy as I will have medicare next Feb.
    I'm so much happier not working for the hospital…not a great place to work.

  29. That is what we are doing now. Cobra coverage from my job for the school district costs us almost $1000 a month. My coverage for myself after Paul gets on Medicare in Oct. will be about $500 unless I keep working, then it will be about $30.00! I almost have to work.

  30. Yes, I have worked for health insurance for years…when do you qualify for medicare? When does your COBRA run out?

  31. It will be two years before I qualify for medicare. Since I "retired" from my school position, I can keep Cobra for as long as I want.

  32. I didn't want to let the whole world know I was going to be in the hospital for three days. You don't think folks would read blog entries to find out when people are going to be gone, but then you never know. I need to catch up with your blog. I've gotten way behind. Cheers!

  33. That's what I thought, too. But it has turned into one long, slow, drawn out process. One baby step at a time.

Leave a Reply

