Knee surgery update with picture

It's been four and a half weeks now since my surgery and I only have one more day of physical therapy.  I go back to the doctor on Tuesday.

When I first wake up in the morning, there is no swelling or redness, but that changes as soon as my feet hit the floor.  But I can tell that it is healing.  This morning, after about 5 minutes of stiffness, I was able to walk with normal movement and no pain without taking a pain pill.  I did take a pain pill before I tried doing my exercises, but I didn't take another one before I went to therapy.  I did have to take another one this afternoon because I was standing on my feet too long.  I made zucchini bread, pulled apart some beef for BBQ, and fixed BLTs for supper.  It doesn't sound like much, but it took me several hours. 

I have good flexion but not very good extention.  I can bend it back but not straighten it out all the way.  It doesn't effect normal activities, so I'm not sure how hard I should work to get it straighter. 

I was able to do a couple of minutes on my eliptical trainer yesterday.   Didn't try again today.  Need to do more steps with alternating feet.  I'm pretty good at coming up, it's the going down that is hard. 

I still have a big area on the right side of my knee that is numb.  Guess I'll just have to wait and see if the nerves regrow in that area.  I need to see if there is anything I can do to make the scar look better, too. 

 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About countrybydesign

blogging, photography, cooking, baking, quilting, genealogy
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Knee surgery update with picture

  1. Emjay says:

    Going down stairs was the hardest thing when I had my foot "issue" – in my case it was because I had no flexibility in my ankle. Going down stairs was the last thing I achieved. You are doing really well!!!

  2. Heyyy, it's looking so much better. I suggest rubbing a freshly cut bit of aloe vera on it (it's an exfoliant as well as a moisturiser) or the cut end of a cucumber. Almond oil is good for moisturising (keeping the skin supple), I've heard that olive oil can be good too – especially straight after applying lemon juice (applying the juice, leaving ten mins, washing off, then applying the oil) to help bleach the skin.
    Not that I really have a clue, they are just some things I've heard.

  3. ErinGoBragh says:

    Someone once told me about musculoskeletal injuries: Once it stops hurting completely, you're halfway done healing. I pass this along to my massage clients all the time! Take it easy. I'm glad you're healing so well, though!

  4. It sounds like you are healing nicely. I think time is the only answer there. You can tell it is getting much better from the pictures you have posted before too.

  5. Can you walk down stairs normally now? How long did it take?

  6. I've been using a variety of lotions, but I need to find out if one is better than the other. I guess anything is better than nothing, and to some extent, it just takes time.

  7. Wow! I know my physical therapist said it will probably be a year before I can get out of bed without thinking about it. I only take one or two pain pills a day now. I know I have used Vitamin E for something else before, but I can't remember. Thanks for all your suggestions.

  8. Now I'm glad I took those really awful pictures. I have come a long way! I think time will be the answer now. Some days I just don't know if I should push it or rest it.

  9. Emjay says:

    I used heaps of vitamin E cream on my scar. The surgeon told me it was important to rub transversely (across the stitch line) to help prevent scar tissue forming under the skin. Scar tissue can make everything "tight" etc. I had the surgery in August 2008 and it was February 2009 before I was walking down steps with one foot on each step.* Before that I was doing what I thought of as the old lady shuffle – I'd step down with my good foot and then bring my bad foot onto that same step and then take the good one down to the next level and then bring the bad foot down. Actually, I guess it is just like little kids do steps! *LOL – I just realised that I was in casts until the beginning of December – so it was only 3 months until I could do steps normally.

  10. Thanks so much for the info. I'll get some Vitamin E cream today. I have been rubbing across and up and down. How hard do I need to rub? Is it the rubbing action or the cream that does the work?
    I can come up stairs with alternating feet pretty easily, but I still have to think about going down stairs that way. So glad to hear that you have recovered completely.

Leave a Reply

