Waves from Hawaii

It's been a long time since I have posted any of my Hawaii photographs.  Too much other stuff going on.  Here are some shots from our last day on the island, so they are all south of Kona. 

This shot and the next one were taken from the deck of my daughter's condo. 

The waves were really crashing into the Black Sand Beach on Thursday afternoon.  This was a really popular spot. 

It was either a national park or a state park.  I'll have to see if I took a picture of the sign! 

I love the different colors of blue in the ocean in this shot.

More of the intense blue of the ocean. 

Here is the sign.  The beach is sort of in two parts.  The side with the beach is different from this part with the rocks.  I think maybe on side is a state park and the other side is a national park.  Guess I'll have to go back to find out for sure!

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About countrybydesign

blogging, photography, cooking, baking, quilting, genealogy
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Waves from Hawaii

  1. Emjay says:

    Yes a trip back would be a great idea! LOL Is this also where there are some petroglyphs?

  2. I'm not sure. We didn't see any, although I did read about them. Did you see them? Another destination to go on our list for our next trip.

  3. Emjay says:

    Yes – I walked along a path that had petroglyphs but I'm not sure where it was. The black sand beach is beautiful – there is also a green sand beach at the very southern end of the Big Island. You have to walk through paddocks and then climb down a fairly steep type of cliff to get to the actual beach but it's really worth it. There are so many beautiful places on the different islands.

  4. I will put the petroglyphs on my list for next time. We didn't do very much that required a lot of walking or climbing, so we missed a lot just because of that.

Leave a Reply

