Spiced Pear Bread

We picked these pears from a tree at our son's house.  They weren't ripe, but I liked them that way.  I never have been fond of pears, and now I think I know why.  I was always waiting for them to get ripe.  Little did I know that they are very good when not ripe! 

 

I went online to look for some recipes since we had a rather large box of them, more than we could eat in a few days.  I found some cake recipes that sounded really good, but since I like to make bread in the small loaf pans so I can eat one and freeze three, I decided to give this bread recipe a try.  The original, called "Spiced D'Anjou Pear Bread", is from www.allrecipes.com.  My version has several changes.  I usually try the original once before I start changing things, but this time I free-lanced it right from the start.  Here's my version.

 

SPICED PEAR BREAD

1/2 c brown sugar

1/2 c white sugar

1/2 cup canola oil

2 Tbsp honey

2 eggs

1/2 tsp vanilla

1/2 tsp salt

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp nutmeg

1/4 tsp cloves

1/2 tsp ginger

1/4 tsp allspice

1 1/2 cups flour

2 fresh, firm pears, grated

1.  Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Spray 4 small loaf pans. 

2.  In large bowl, combine brown sugar, white sugar, oil, honey, vanilla, and eggs.  Mix in salt, spices, and flour.  Stir in grated pears.

3.  Bake for 25 to 30 minutes.  Allow to cool in pans for 10 minutes before placing on wire rack to cool. 

Spiced pear bread, fresh from the oven.  It has a very complex flavor.  It's a keeper!

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About countrybydesign

blogging, photography, cooking, baking, quilting, genealogy
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Spiced Pear Bread

  1. If you would like to have a German translation, I can send it to my daughter in Houston. She can translate it for you. It is so good!

  2. realworld says:

    That'd be more easy for me… Thank you in advance šŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

