German Apple Cake

I'm going to have to make another one of these to get a good photo.  The cake is very good, but I forgot to flour the pan, so it got two big holes when I dumped it out.  I found a few apples in the crisper this afternoon that needed to be used, so it was off to the internet to find a recipe.  I used one for German Apple Cake from www.allrecipes.com.  And, I almost followed the recipe. 

Instead of 2 tsp of cinnamon, I used 1 1/2 tsp cinnamon, and 1/2 tsp nutmeg.  And instead of 4 cups of apple slices, I used 7 cups of grated apples to which I added 2 TBSP lemon juice and 2 TBPS water.  I used a Bundt pan that I sprayed, but I should have sugared or floured it, too.  I baked it for about 55 minutes, then let it cool for 10 before I turned it out on a plate.  While it was cooling, I mixed some powdered sugar with fresh orange juice for a glaze.  I didn't even wait for the cake it cool before I poured on the glaze. 

This is a very heavy moist cake with absolutely wonderful flavor.  It didn't really need the glaze.  Perfect way to use apples that are past their prime.  Next time, I will try to get a picture.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About countrybydesign

blogging, photography, cooking, baking, quilting, genealogy
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to German Apple Cake

  1. It sounds delicious!! Wow. Sure wish you could pass out slices to us! Yes, please take a picture next time 🙂

  2. Pingback: German Apple Cake | Country By Design's Blog

Leave a Reply

