Whole Wheat Hot Dog Buns

Homemade Hot Dog Buns

I used to make a lot of bread, but it’s been awhile.  I got ambitious this afternoon and made a batch of hot dog buns.  I found the recipe at one of my favorite web sites:  www.allrecipes.com

I only made three(!) changes to the recipe.  I didn’t have instant yeast, so I dissolved the yeast in the milk mixture after it had cooled off a bit.  I heated the milk and butter in the microwave on high for a minute and a half.  Perfect!  And I used one cup of whole wheat flour.  Oh, and I brushed them with butter as soon as they came out of the oven.  I’m not very good at following directions, am I! 

We couldn’t resist.  We ate two of them tonight, even though they are for the party tomorrow.  We’ll see what everyone else thinks about them.  The recipe would also make really good breadsticks.

About countrybydesign

blogging, photography, cooking, baking, quilting, genealogy
This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Whole Wheat Hot Dog Buns

  1. Deborah Willis Dauterman says:

    I love allrecipes.com. I just baked the chocolate chip pumpkin bread from there. I used the recipe with the most stars.

    • I use a lot of recipes from allrecipes.com. I like cooks.com, too. Haven’t tried pumpkin bread with chocolate chips yet. I’ve heard they are really good in banana bread, too. I know I always put some in my trail mix.

  2. ladywise says:

    Hi CbD! I’m so glad you made it here! I like your new house! I hope you are settled in and feeling comfortable here. Come on by and see me when you get a chance.

    • It is starting to feel comfortable. I wanted to do some tweaking today, but I’ve spent the entire afternoon trying to move my Vox photos to Flickr. I had a Flickr account, but I couldn’t remember how to sign in, so I had to start over, and I signed up for a Pro account, but Vox still thinks I’m over my limit. Arrggg!

Leave a Reply

