Good eats in the country

Tonight’s dinner qualifies as a “good eats” in my book.  Nothing fancy, just good food.  I made salmon loaf from a recipes I found at www.southernfood.about.com.  Of course I changed it, so I will post my version.  I also fixed a box of Betty Crocker Three Cheese potatoes, almost like the directions.  I only added a little black pepper and some instant onion flakes to the dish before I put it in with the salmon loaf, and sprinkled the top with some shredded Fiesta blend cheese before I set it on the table.  Yum!  Finished off with zucchini that I had cubed and sauted in a little olive oil with salt and pepper and a sprinkle of Parmesan cheese.  Lots of cheese going on here!  We had mandarin oranges for dessert.  Would have been nice with some crusty bread, but we are trying not to eat so much bread, even though I love it. 

Country By Design Salmon Loaf

INGREDIENTS:

1 can (5 ounces) tuna, drained

1 can (16 ounces salmon) drained, skin and bones removed.

2 cups soft bread crumbs

2 eggs, slightly beaten

1/2 cup sour cream

1 tbsp instant onion flakes

1 tbsp dried parsley flakes

1 tsp salt

dash of pepper

DIRECTIONS:

Mash tuna and salmon.  Combine with remaining ingredients.  Place in a buttered loaf pan, about 9 x 5.  Bake at 350 degrees for 45 minutes, or until firm.  Serves 6.  Good served with cream gravy.

About countrybydesign

blogging, photography, cooking, baking, quilting, genealogy
This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

