German Apple Cake

German Apple Cake

German Apple Cake

I promised to take a picture of my German Apple Cake the next time I make one that didn’t stick to the pan and fall apart.  The one I made today turned out perfect. 

I did tweak the recipe more this time, so I may have to print it after all.  I used 1 cup of whole wheat flour and 1 cup of all-purpose flour.  I didn’t use quite as many apples, and I left the peel on one of them.  And I only had about half a cup of oil, so I used a little butter and some applesauce.  And, to top it off, I made the glaze with powdered sugar and fresh lemon juice.  Yummmm! 

I had to wait until I got home from work to give it a try, but it was worth it.  I think this one is even better than the first one.  In case you want to try one for yourself, you can find the original recipe at www.allrecipes.com.  Or I’ll be glad to print the recipe the way I actually made it, if anyone is interested.

About countrybydesign

blogging, photography, cooking, baking, quilting, genealogy
This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to German Apple Cake

  1. Freedom Smith says:

    Could I have a slice please??

    It looks delicious and also just lovely!!! Beautifully done, CBD, and I am sure it tastes every bit as good as it looks!

    • Linda Bange says:

      Wish I could invite you over for a piece of cake and a cup of coffee. It really is good, and doesn’t take that long to make. I haven’t tried using my food processor for the apples. I grate them on a flat grater, but a box grater would work, too.

  2. yancunyong says:

    Your German Apple Cake looks sooooo yummmmmy!!!!!
    Could I have two slices please? 😀

  3. ladywise says:

    Oh my that looks good! I love apple anything! A piece of that and a cup of coffee would be perfect!

  4. Deb Weyrich-Cody says:

    Oh yeah, definately interested in how you did this! It’s just such a beautiful golden brown you’ve got my mouth watering just looking at it… Gorgeous. Glorious. Absolutely fabulous (Dahling; )

    • The German Apple Cake is to die for! I’ll post a recipe for you. I’ve been trying to figure out if i could create the recipe as a Word document then create a URL so I could like to it because I know it is hard to print recipes from a blog page. I’m completely self-taught as far as the computer is concerned, so I’m at a loss. It looks like I could do it with Office 2007 but I have Office 2003. Bummer! Anyway, I’ll create a post with just the cranberry oatmeal gluten free cookies, then I do another one for the German Apple Cake.

  5. Pingback: Photo of German Apple Cake | Country By Design's Blog

Leave a Reply

