The Bug and the Bumblebee

A couple of you very observant readers noticed that my marigold image appeared to be upside down, and commented on the wee insect on the edge of the petals (that I hadn’t noticed).  

Here is the same shot, turn over and cropped.  I do occasionally hold my camera off and “shoot from the hip” which is how I may have taken this shot without getting too close to the bee.  So, it probably was upside down.  

Marigold with bee and bug

Marigold with bee and bug

The same day that I took this image I also took some shots of my chrysanthemums, which I had also forgotten about.  Gesh!  It’s a good thing I took pictures.  

Pastel mums

Pastel mums with rain drops

I love the colors in these petals.  I didn’t even see any like this this year.  I ended up with plain yellow ones and lavender ones with yellow centers.  I planted them in the flower bed the day after I brought them home, so I hope they come back next year.  They were rather root-bound, so I don’t know.  I haven’t had much luck recently.  

Our granddaughter and her baby came out today so we spent a lot of time with them.  I was really nice outside after lunch.  Cloudy, but the temperature was perfect. 

Made Old Settler’s Beans for lunch using a recipe my cousin gave me.  Very good.  That recipe is a keeper.  Then for dinner I made quiche with zucchini.  Yum!  I hadn’t made quiche in quite some time, but we all really enjoy it.  I make mine without crust, so it goes together quickly.

About countrybydesign

blogging, photography, cooking, baking, quilting, genealogy
This entry was posted in Nature, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Bug and the Bumblebee

  1. Freedom Smith says:

    Beautiful pictures. I love the pastel mums with the raindrops!! The marigold with the bee is outstanding! Good job, CBD ❗

Leave a Reply

