Thoughts from Thursday in the country

Hot pink petunia with water color filter

Hot Pink Petunia

I went back two years to find this hot pink petunia.  I applied a water color filter and cropped the image, but didn’t do any other editing.  Pretty impressive, if I may say so. 

I did enough cooking today that I shouldn’t need to touch the stove tomorrow.  But, alas, didn’t come up with any keeper.  I made a zucchini casserole for lunch.  It was okay, but not anything I’ll make again.  We really like zucchini just sauted in a little olive oil with salt and pepper. 

While the zucchini casserole was cooking this morning, I put the ingredients in the crock pot for black bean chili.  I’ve made black bean chili before from my own made up recipe that I really liked, but this one was nothing to write home about.  I did make corn muffins from scratch, for the first time ever, using the recipe on the back of the box.  They were very good and  I will make them again. 

I worked on some quilted coasters this afternoon, and finished with 6 of them tonight.  I want to wash them to fluff up the edges before I list them on Etsy.  I will post pictures tomorrow.  I also started on a table runner using a Moda charm pack that I have had laid out for about a week.  I got one row of squares “Xed” together with the batting and backing and started stitching them together.  I had 6 sewed up when I realized that I was making the seam a little bit too deep.  That was the end of that for today.  I’ll have to take them apart tomorrow and try again.

About countrybydesign

blogging, photography, cooking, baking, quilting, genealogy
This entry was posted in Nature and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Thoughts from Thursday in the country

  1. Freedom Smith says:

    The flower is gorgeous!! I love what you did with the watercolor filter. Wow. You could frame these pictures and hang them on the wall or sell them!

    A zuchini casserole sounds delicious. It is hard to believe that you had surgery 10 weeks ago. You are a super woman 😀

  2. archiegrrl says:

    I have three favorite zucchini recipes. One, marinate for 10-15 min. in olive oil, balsamic vinegar, chopped garlic, salt and pepper and then broil or grill (this is also an awesome recipe for asparagus!). Second, use a vegetable peeler to make zucchini “noodles”, then saute with butter, and season with garlic powder and salt. Finally, if you have an over-abundance of zucchini, there are several recipes online for mock-apple pie — peel the zucchini, slice thinly, and then bake in a pie crust with typical pie-filling ingrediants and a little apple cider to add the apple flavor. It was a big hit with my grad school friends and roommates!

    • I’ve made just about everything there is to be made with zucchini, using it as a substitute for everything from apples to potatoes. I just wasn’t crazy about the casserole dish. Sounded good but was lacking something.

Leave a Reply

