Cloudy fall day in the country

Rural cloudscape

Cloudy sky

Another dip into the archives. Had to be at work today at 7:00 am, so I didn’t take any photos then, although if I would have grabbed my camera this morning, I could have taken some shots of a group of does. It was almost dark before I got home. That is the worst thing about winter days. They are so short that on days I work, I don’t get to see much daylight. But what the hey. I’m sure I’m in good company!

This isn’t exactly something we see everyday, although it isn’t uncommon in the fall when a weather system is moving in. You can almost feel the cold in the air. I may have posted this last year, but since I don’t remember, I doubt if any of you all do either!

Going to do a little more computer work, then I’m going to watch Monday Night Football. Didn’t watch any of the games yesterday, but it sounds like a winner tonight. Perhaps I’ll fix a cup of hot chocolate to go with it.

About countrybydesign

blogging, photography, cooking, baking, quilting, genealogy
This entry was posted in Nature and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Cloudy fall day in the country

  1. After existing beneath gloomy gray skies 80% of the year, I can no longer look at overcast/cloudy photos without anguish. That might change after a few years outside this climate but for now this photo’s just too damn depressing, though I must also confess that it’s not without its charm. With the rain, gray skies and nightfall at 4:30, we here live in fairly perpetual darkness. Road signs here should read: Welcome to Washington. Do Not Enter if Depressed.

    • In Alaska, we heard that the rate of depression caused by the weather was extremely high. Might not be much different where you live. On cloudy days, I feel better if I am at work. I can’t see outside, and the store is well lit. If I’m at home, I can always see the gloomy skies. I don’t know how you deal with it.

  2. ladywise says:

    That’s a beautiful photo CbD. I take a lot of pictures of the sky in different weather systems. I call them “God’s Artwork” as the sky seems like a canvas for him to paint on. The different cloud formations can make for beautiful “artwork”. When you add the countryside to it, well, it is definitely artwork then. I don’t like the shorter days of the winter either.

  3. Freedom Smith says:

    I love the picture, CBD! It looks ominous! I am sorry you are not seeing much daylight. That would be difficult to deal with! Enjoy your hot chocolate and watching football!

  4. Erin Michel says:

    Oh, it’s beautiful!

  5. Aussie Emjay says:

    Great cloud formations. I really dislike getting home in the dark – it really puts me off doing anything except thinking that I have to get ready for bed. 🙂

    • I know! In the summer, I rarely start thinking about dinner until 6:00, but in the winter, if it’s after 5:00, I’m looking for leftovers or something else that is easy and quick. Tonight it was leftovers.

Leave a Reply

