Another photo accepted by iStock

Gate, fence and cattle

Behind the rusty gate

I don’t think this is the best picture I have ever taken, so I’m not sure why it was accepted by iStock, unless it is because it is unique. 

I feel like it has been ages since I posted anything.  Not sure where to start!  I have finished another baby lovie, but I don’t have any photos.  It’s for a gift, so I won’t be listing it on Etsy.  I made it a bit differently than I usually do.  The top is all browns and blues from the Pure collection by Sweetwater for Moda.  Instead of an all white backing, I made alternating squares from Peek-a-boo Puppy with Bones All0ver, a flannel fabric from Wal-Mart.  It is also blue and brown.  And I doubled the border.  I’ll try to get a photo posted tomorrow. 

The last two days I have worked, I have spent more time packaging bread than decorating cakes.  At first I didn’t think I liked it, but it is growing on me.  Not very creative, but there is something calming about it.  It’s almost like assembly line work.

Happy Thanksgiving to one and all!

About countrybydesign

blogging, photography, cooking, baking, quilting, genealogy
This entry was posted in Nature and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Another photo accepted by iStock

  1. I recall reading that iStock acceptance is in accordance with quotas and numbers of images in any given theme and demand. For example, photos with a “sea” or “beach” keywords may or may not be accepted per iStock’s inventory. If the keyword (demand) is high, they’ll load up their inventory with “beach” pics; likewise, if there’s a shortage of a particular keyword/theme (i.e., “boa constrictors consuming mice”), they eagerly accept the photo. This photo is not unique so it can be surmised that it satisfies some possibly mysterious iStock supply policy!

  2. Aussie Emjay says:

    Perhaps “rusty gate” is being searched for – the blues and greens are pretty. I hope you have/had a very nice Thanksgiving.

  3. mkirkd says:

    This is a great photo very pastorial and country! Congrats girl you are doing well with istock!

  4. Indeed to Emjay’s comment. While the gate isn’t rusty, only lightly streaked, odds are high that his photo would be accepted with a “rusty gate” keyword. iStock is probably not overpopulated with “rusty gate” pics. Almost makes me wanna go in search of a gate and some cows and submit too! hahaha

  5. mkirkd says:

    Sweet of you to think I could teach a photography class…I’m still learning and taking class maybe sometime in the future I would know enough to teach a class.

Leave a comment