Coming soon to Etsy

I finished another brown and blue baby lovie and it is now being lovingly tossed around in the washing machine to begin the fraying process, most of which happens in the dryer.  I threw it in with some other laundry (to save water) which will be covered in lint, but the dryer takes care of most of it.  I have to check the dryer lint screen about every five minutes three or four times at first to keep the lint from building up too much.  It really look fuzzy, all the little short threads where the seams and edges are clipped have to come out.  I took this photo while I was still working on it, so it is a couple of rows bigger than this.  This one is much more “formal” as far as arrangement of colors.  I’ll have to see how I like it when it’s finished.  The frayed seams add so much to the overall design that it is hard to tell until the very end. 

Baby lovie

Brown and blue rag quilted baby lovie

I had a dentist appointment this morning.  I knew I had broken the corner of a tooth off, but I found out that the only way to fix it is with a crown.  It is just going to have to wait until next year.  I have started several projects to get ready for Christmas, but now I’m going to have to sit down and get organized, seriously.  I got by without a Christmas letter last year, so I think I will forgetaboutit again this year.  Everyone that is interested reads my blog or facebook, or both.

I fixed another nice gluten free dinner tonight:  meatloaf, mashed sweet potatoes, spicy black beans, and sauted mushrooms.  I used oatmeal in the meatloaf instead of bread crumbs.  It was a little bit dryer than usual, but I think that was because I didn’t reconstitute the dry onions before I added them.  I should have used a bit more liquid.  I made a loaf of bread on Monday from a mix I ordered from King Arthur Flour.  It is much better than the mix I had tried from the store.  I have all my special flours now so I need to try a loaf from scratch.  Maybe on Sunday. 

I read everyone’s post today, but don’t have time to make comments.  Have to get up early again tomorrow to go to work.  I managed to go to sleep last night without my Lunesta.  Hope it works again tonight.  I was beginning to get a metallic taste in my mouth that I don’t like.  Sweet dreams, everyone!

About countrybydesign

blogging, photography, cooking, baking, quilting, genealogy
This entry was posted in Country By Design, Etsy and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Coming soon to Etsy

  1. trying to GET materials to fray – lol, what a concept!

    • I know! The whole quilting thing nowdays is rather odd when you think about it. You take a perfectly good piece of fabric, and cut it into little pieces just so you can sew them back together again. Rag quilting takes that concept one step further. Not only do you sew little squares together, you stitch the seams so they show, and you clip them to make them fray out faster! Sort of like buying jeans that are already ripped.

  2. mkirkd says:

    I can so relate with teeth issues…I need a few fillings and my 4 wisdom teeth pulled…why do they call them wisdome teeth when i don’t feel any smarter for having them and it will cost a bundle to get them taken out?

    • It would be interesting to find out why they are called wisdom teeth. My husband claims he is further along in evolution because he doesn’t have any, and never did. Our youngest daughter is one step further along than that. Not only does she not have wisdom teeth, she didn’t get her last set of molars!

Leave a Reply

