Snowy day in the neighborhood

New house in the neighborhood in the snow

This is the newest house out in our neck of the woods.  I really like it.  It belongs to a young couple with a little girl.  They are really good neighbors.  You can sort of tell how heavy the snow is/was on their roof.  I would not want to be the first one to track through the snow in their yard.  It is pristine. 

Busy day at work today.  I ended up working by myself.  It’s mostly birthday cakes, but we do have a few orders for Happy New Years cakes.  I made a really pretty anniversary cake today.  Wish I had taken my camera with me.  It was one of those that you only make one of with aqua and pink roses.  It took me the longest time to get the shade of the aqua icing right.  I kept adding colors until I finally got it right.  We don’t have a formula like they do in the paint department.  It’s by guess and by gosh. 

Got up this morning to no snow.  It had warmed up so much during the night that all the snow had melted.  It got even warmer during the day today.  I didn’t put on my coat when I left work.  It was a tad windy, but not bad, for the next to last day in 2010.

About countrybydesign

blogging, photography, cooking, baking, quilting, genealogy
This entry was posted in Nature and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Snowy day in the neighborhood

  1. mkirkd says:

    It was very cold here yesterday and it is 17 this morning…yikes I’m in bed with my blankets and a very nice warm laptop!

    Love the house wow that is beautiful…I could never afford a home like that!

  2. “I would not want to be the first one to track through the snow in their yard. It is pristine. ” No worries, Emjay has no qualms about ruinous ventures. 😉 Happy New Year CbD!

  3. frizztext says:

    if it is snowy outside –
    make it warm inside:

    fire + wood rag

    me, playing country guitar by the fireside …

Leave a Reply

