Post #10 – It’s winter!

Well, so much for a post a day for 2011!  But life happens, and I’ve had a lot of it this week. 

On Monday, it took me an hour to drive hour in the snow only to find out that we didn’t have phone service.  No phone, no computer!  We still have dial-up service.  Can’t get high speed, even though we want to.

We got 6 to 7 inches of snow Monday night, but I got up and went to work anyway, even though I had to snow-plow my way out of our drive way and lane, so I could call the phone company!  No only do we not have high-speed internet, we don’t even have cell phone service.  Did I mention that we live in the boonies!  The blacktops had been cleaned to some extent, so I made it to work in an hour.  Ordinarily, I can make it in 30 minutes.  Coming home was much the same story.  Some snow pack, but not too bad.  Four lanes were pretty clear.  All was going great until I got 4 miles from home and ran into a foot deep drift that went from one side of the road to the other for about an 1/8th of a mile.  Before I knew it, I was off the road.  And as luck would have it, I didn’t have good cell phone reception, and soon my battery was dead.  Bummer!  So I’m out in the cold (below zero) walking to the closest house that had lights on.  Thank goodness I had worn my insulated boots and my Eskimo coat.  I had left the car running with the lights on so I could see where I was going.  I didn’t have to worry about anyone stealing it!  Called my hubby who was thrilled about getting dressed again to come out in the cold.  By the time he got to where I was, someone we knew had stopped to see if they could help.  They had a big 4-wheel drive truck, and we needed it to drag my car back onto the road.  All’s well that end’s well, but it was 9:00 by the time I got home, and I was COLD.  I changed into my nice warm jammies and got some hot tea, then snuggled under a couple of blankets while I waited for my electric blanket to warm  up my bed. 

I didn’t get up early on Wednesday, ’cause I wanted to make sure the road was open before I ventured out again.  I called the same house that I had been to the night before.  He said the road was clear in front of his house, and I said the road was clear in front of your house last night, too.  Then he said his wife had just left in a van and had made it around the corner, so I figured I should be able to make it, too. 

The snow plow had not been over the road, and I had to plow through the same snow drift that I had gotten stuck in the night before, but it was daylight, and I could see were I was going and was able to follow someone else’s track thru the drift.  Brother! 

I got to work an hour late, but they told me to go ahead and work an eight hour shift.  So I was going to clock out at 6:00.  Somewhere a long the line, I started watching the minute hand on the clock instead of the hour hand, and first thing I know, it is 7:00!  And I still had to pick up some pills and a few groceries since I hadn’t been shopping since last Friday.  So it was 9:00 again when I got home.  Since I had already missed two nights of posting, I didn’t feel bad about skipping another night. 

We had 4 below zero this morning, but the sun came out and it did warm up.  I should have gone out and gotten some snow pictures, but I wanted to finished a couple of projects that I had started, do some laundry, and finish listing coasters and pot holders on Etsy.  I now have 5 sets of heart coasters, three heart pot holders, and one set of baseball coasters that I have listed since January 1st.  Take a look at www.countrybydesign.etsy.com.  Here’s my favorite set of coasters.

Black and white coasters with scrappy red and white hearts

About countrybydesign

blogging, photography, cooking, baking, quilting, genealogy
This entry was posted in Country By Design, Etsy and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Post #10 – It’s winter!

  1. A car left running in my ‘hood would be history in minutes, even in a snowdrift – lol. Curious, have you ever had the pleasure of surfing the Net via cable or wi-fi?

    • It was too cold for man or beast to be out the other night. Brrrr! Even the dogs who like to sit in the middle of the road were no where to be seen.

      Yes, I’m used high speed internet. When I worked for the school district, we had a T-1 line. That was fast! Plus all of my kids have high speed, so I get to use it occasionally. I don’t sit and stare at the screen while pages are loading. I’m always reading a book or working puzzles. Plus I have my accelerator set at maximum speed so it loads pages with poor quality pictures, but I can refresh them to real quality if I want to. Really speeds things up.

  2. True winter adventures lol. I am so glad I do no longer have the hassles of a car – especially in winter. I remember one time when I was driving backwards out of the driveway of a customer and had to turn into a narrow little road (which was actually more of a path) which immediately had a steep gradient that is already a challenge to navigate in a dry season. Now imagine winter, thick layer of ice on that road, with mounds of snow on each side.
    On my left side the mound of snow would fall into a little water ditch. My car started sliding the second I turned onto the path, it kept sliding backwards to it’s left side. So when it stopped I was trapped in snow and that little ditch. Getting out of that was impossible. The car wouldn’t go forward or even backward in any way.
    First – and thankfully last time – I had to call for that kind of road side assistance.

    • I did add motorist assistance to my insurance recently, but I knew it would be faster to just call home than it try to get someone else to come out!

      Sounds like you had a winter adventure, too. I’m glad I don’t have too many of them. The last time I got stuck, I was right in front of my house.

  3. ladywise says:

    It’s actually kind of nice that we get “shut down” during ice and snow because I don’t have to worry about any of that. If it snows, there is no school or work or anything else. You just sit it out, which is exactly what has been going on this past week here. The kids have been out of school all week including today, even though the high today is supposed to be in the 50’s. We still have ice on a lot of the back roads and the buses can’t get down them so they won’t open the schools back up until Monday. It’s crazy. We don’t get snows like we did last weekend very often thank goodness. I’ll be glad when this one is over. I’ve had cabin fever terrible!

    Have you ever heard of or checked into Hughes Net? It is an alternative for people without access. I don’t know how expensive it is, but it is supposed to work everywhere as it runs off of satellites I think. Just an idea rather than dial up.

    I love these coasters. You are doing such nice work. I really like the way you did the photograph too.

    • I’m glad you like the coasters. I’m working harder on my photography so it isn’t so ho-hum. I had a lot of fun trying out all the different variations on the same basic theme. But I really like these with the black background.

      I did check into Hughesnet. I fact, I had signed up to have in installed, then when they got here, they couldn’t do a standard free installation, so we called it off. It does cost about $70 per month. I would have to sell a lot to pay for that! I get dial up for $20 per month. As soon as they upgrade the phone lines, I will go with high speed.

      Bet you were running out of things to do with everyone home for a week! Glad you didn’t have to get out on the ice.

Leave a Reply

