Alternative sources of fabrics for quilting projects

Three men's shirts

Coming soon to a table runner on Etsy!  My hubby cleaning out his closet this morning, and I rescued these shirts to recycle in my quilting projects.  If you don’t have a family member with a stuffed closet, thrift shops often have flannel and/or 100% cotton shirts . 

Another source of great fabrics is men’s boxer shorts.  One year I wanted to make St. Louis Cardinals place mats but couldn’t find any official Cardinals fabric.  I resorted to buying mens and boys boxer shorts on eBay!  They were a big hit and sold really well.  I have also been known to steal a pair from my hubby’s drawer when I needed another set of blue fabrics. 

Now I need to get started on a Moda table runner that I have an order for from Etsy.  I’ll try to include some photos of the project in progress.

About countrybydesign

blogging, photography, cooking, baking, quilting, genealogy
This entry was posted in Country By Design, Etsy and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Alternative sources of fabrics for quilting projects

  1. I’m a huge fan of creative recycling! Once at an art show/street fair, I came upon an artist who had turned old decorative pillows with textures and weaves and embroidery and the like into handbags. They were gorgeous. And of course not cheap. 😦

Leave a Reply

