What happened?

What happened to Country By Design this week?  Work, ever day since Tuesday!  Plus Thursday afternoon we had a late winter storm that left us with several inches of sleet and snow.  I was so exhausted that evening that I didn’t get any further than my recliner. 

Somewhere along the line, I did manage to finish a mini quilt, but I haven’t been home when it was daylight so I could get a good picture.  I did take a couple with bad lighting that turned out much better than I thought they would. 

lavender mini quilt

The backing fabric creates a lot of interest in this design.  I’ll have to post a picture of the backing tomorrow.  The backing squares are alternating pink prints with butterflies and white squares with hot pink dots.  With the seams stitched to the right side, the backing colors add a bit of punch to the overall appearance. 

I ended up working 40 hours this week, about twice as much as I really want to work.  But beggars can’t be choosers, so I’ll take whatever they give me, or ask me to work.  I need the insurance for another year or so at least.

Most of the time I do enjoy cake decorating, but I like it best when I can do it on my own terms.  Tomorrow I will be working on getting 300 cupcakes iced.  Not my idea of a creative job! 

Hopefully I will get a few days off this week to do some quilting.  I have two custom orders waiting to be finished.  So far, all of my transactions with Etsy customers have been very positive.  The hardest part about custom orders is trying to see the same picture in my mind that they customer has in their mind.  They usually want one “like” something they saw in my Etsy shop except they want different colors, or a different size.  Still it is good business.  And I don’t have to worry if it doesn’t turn out exactly like they wanted it.  I just list it on Etsy!  It’s isn’t everyone who can sell their mistakes.

About countrybydesign

blogging, photography, cooking, baking, quilting, genealogy
This entry was posted in Country By Design, Etsy and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

