I’m back!

Floral landscape by porch door

I feels like forever since I’ve been able to post anything here.  I lot of water has gone under the bridge.  The one bright spot has been this minature landscape that I created just outside my back porch door.

My hubby had surgery to remove his esophagus on May 3rd.  The surgery went well, but the recover was anything but smooth.  He spent 10 days in ICU and didn’t get to come home until Tuesday, May 31st. 

He can eat again, but it has to be very small amounts at a time, 1/4 cup to 1/2 cup total, and he has to turn his head to the left to swallow because his left vocal cord is still compromised. 

Our biggest challenge now is to help him eat enough calories to maintain his weight and heal.  They would like to see him consuming 2200 calories per day, but that is very hard to do.  He can swallow clear liquids, but all his food has to be like toddler baby food to make it easier to swallow and digest.  Plus his tastes have changed so he no longer enjoys some of his favorite things. 

But he is glad to be home.  I have taken a leave of absence from work so I can be home with him.  I hope I can catch up on my Word Press and Facebook friends.  Please forgive me if I haven’t been leaving comments anywhere.  It will take me some time to catch up. 

Hope you enjoy the photo of my little landscape project.  I’ll try to get some more flower photos posted and keep you updated as we go along. 

 

 

About countrybydesign

blogging, photography, cooking, baking, quilting, genealogy
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I’m back!

  1. Aussie Emjay says:

    Oh Country you’ve had a rough time between those long hours before your husband’s surgery and then dealing with his surgery. I hope that he continues to improve (and manages to consume the required calories) and that you can get a bit of a break.

    I had similar problems with my garden as you did – the weather was just too confusing for most of my plants. My peonies only lasted 2 days this year!!

    Best wishes! 🙂

    • Hi, Emjay! So good to hear from you. I have tried to keep up with Word Press, but I am so far behind. I have enjoyed your letters of the alphabet posts. He still has a long road back to health ahead of him, but at least we are home now and only have to do as much as we want to each day. I’ll try to get some more flower photos posted soon. How is your little garden growing?

Leave a Reply

