Photos from my week at Camp Quality

My week at Camp Quality started on Friday, June 10th when I drove down to St. Clair, MO to Camp Woodland Hills. It is a church-owned campgrounds that Camp Quality uses each year. We unpacked our stuff and waited for our truck to come that was bringing all the food we would need for a week to fix 3 meals a day for about 80 people. After we did that, it was off to Wal-Mart to pick up the odds and ends that we didn’t need huge quantities of, like baking soda and lemon juice.

By this time, there were enough of us to make it worth the trouble to go out to eat at a Mexican place. It was good, but I’ve had better. We started off Saturday by going out for breakfast, since the campers that had reserved the campgrounds for the week of the 4th through the 11th were still there. This place was worth writing home about. It was the Lewis Cafe in historic downtown St. Clair, at 145 Main Street. It’s been the same Mom and Pop place since 1938, and it is worth a drive just to eat there. The front door leads you into the original shop with booths on one side and a low counter with stools on the other. We went around to a larger room that was originally another shop. You can see it with the curtains in the windows and at the door in the photo.
IMG_2156

They raise their own meat and the portions are generous. I had country ham, others had bacon and pork sausage that was hand formed. It was all delicious. I rounded mine out with sunny side up eggs, toast, and hash browns. The toast is made to order in a toaster that sits on the counter. And the wait staff is very friendly. I want to go back again next year!

Okay. Enough bumming around. Time to get down to business. A brief tour around the facilities first. You feel like you are driving off the edge of the earth to get to the camp, even though it is less than 10 miles from the interstate.
IMG_2166
Here is the main hall for camp. It has the dining hall and kitchen, as well as rooms for staff and showers.
IMG_2167
The hall inside the main building, looking toward the kitchen.
IMG_2158
My humble abode for my week at camp. I’m taking my air mattress next year!
IMG_2168

Here’s the workhorse of the kitchen, a 10 burner stove and a convection oven. We kept both of them busy.
IMG_2171

Here’s the other essential piece of equipment. It’s an oldie but it’s a goodie. I can’t imagine washing all the dishes by hand that we put through this Jackson every day. It’s a low temp machine, so we can even wash plastic items in it without worrying about them melting.

IMG_2189

One of the things all the campers look forward to is the fresh fruit tray. We fix two like this for each meal.

IMG_2182

And here’s the crew that makes it all possible. It’s a big job, but five of us have been together for four years now, so each of us know what our job is and don’t require a lot of supervision.

IMG_2206

This was the 20th year for Camp Quality of Central Missouri. Camp Quality is an international organization that sponsors camps for kids with cancer and their siblings. So I made a birthday cake for our dessert on the last evening of camp when we have a special meal. Would you believe there are 12 cups of powdered sugar in the icing on the cake?

One last photo to show you the cabins they go with the camp. There are two sets of cabins, a shower house, and hook-ups for campers as well as a craft cabin, a pavilion, a swimming pool, and a basketball/tennis court. Most of the grounds are very rustic. There is a smooth area that can be used for games, etc. and several schools bring there bands out here for marching band camp.
IMG_2161

Things went well this year. I am getting my menus and orders fine tuned as that we can use up everything
we order. Well, most everything. I made lots of notes as we went along this year, and have most of my menus and orders already figured out for next year. That will be a big time saver later, because the details get cold in a hurry!

About countrybydesign

blogging, photography, cooking, baking, quilting, genealogy
This entry was posted in Camp Quality and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Photos from my week at Camp Quality

  1. Debra Brown says:

    That looks like a great place to do anything! What a wonderful camp to be a part of. I need to find something like that to do myself. I’m sure you really felt great after that. The cake looks yummy and the restaurant you went to that was mom and pop owned sounds really good. I love places like that. When I was traveling we would look for places like that to eat instead of going to all the chain restaurants. They get old quick!

    Which one of the ladies in the picture is you?

    • My sister-in-law, Kay, is on the far left, then it’s me, and then another sister-in-law from my husband’s side of the family. The two ladies on the far right have been coming to camp longer than I have! Wish you didn’t live so far away so you could join us. How is the job situation going? Sorry to hear you are having so many issues with the girls. I feel sorry for them and for you. And I don’t have a clue as to what you should do. It is so sad when children have been mistreated in that way. I will pray for you!

  2. Awesome! Makes me want to go there.. bringing back memories of camp!

  3. Aussie Emjay says:

    I love the sound of the Lewis Cafe – it’s always a wonderful feeling to find something just like the old days 🙂 We have Camp Quality in Australia too – one of my sons is going to run in the City to Surf race (10 miles) this year and his sponsorship funds will go to Camp Quality.

    • That is amazing! It is a wonderful organization that doesn’t get a lot of press. Run entirely by volunteers. The Lewis Cafe was amazing. The main room looked like it hadn’t be remodeled in ages, if ever.

Leave a Reply

