Quilting again!

It was hot again today, but we did get some work done outside.  It was 10:00 before we got outside, so I restricted my activities to the shaded area under the crabapple tree.  Then my hubby came out to use the weed-eater so I went around the flower bed so he could see where the flowers ended and the grass began.  It isn’t perfect, but it’s a lot better than it was when we came home yesterday.  It didn’t look like anyone had touched it for a month! 

Went downstairs after I came in from outside because it is the coolest place in the house.  I had pieced this table runner before we left for Texas.

Summer Breeze table runner

I had found a vintage cotton bed spread yesterday while cleaning out a closet that I’m going to try to use as a backing fabric.  I ran into a stumbling block when I realized that I needed to order batting.  I have some craft-size pieces, but this runner is 50 inches long.  The fabrics are from the Summer Breeze collection for Moda.

So it was off to Plan B.  I started working on a baby quilt that I had received a custom order for. 

Moda Pure collection

I used 3 sets of Pure from Moda to make 4 patch squares in pale blues.  They are going to alternate with squares of the dark brown.  The backing with be dark brown squares alternating with the pale blue with brown dots flannel.  I bought the only Pure collections that I could find on Etsy.  The dark brown and the flannel came from Fabric.com. 

I got all the 4 patch squares stitched and quilted.  I have all the rest of the squares cut out, so I shouldn’t take too much longer.  I will just have to decide what colors I want to use for the border. 

I did go out this evening and do some watering.  I’ll have to water again tomorrow, and the day after that, and….  There is no break in the hot, dry weather for at least a week.  At least it isn’t going to be windy, too.  Hot, dry winds just pull all the moisture out of the leaves. 

I took a short nap today, but for the most part, I’m recovering from our trip a lot better than I thought I would.  My hubby lost a couple of pounds while we were in Houston, but I didn’t want to forget anything we had taken down there, so I picked them up and brought them back home, plus a couple more.  Not going to worry too much about it for a couple of weeks.  Things are still going to be crazy for awhile. 

 

About countrybydesign

blogging, photography, cooking, baking, quilting, genealogy
This entry was posted in Country By Design, Etsy and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Quilting again!

  1. mizunogirl says:

    Love to see your quilting posts! I’ve taken up quilting in my recuperation from my hip surgery, and I am TERRIBLE at it! About to start a custom quilt, with a special design made by a friend, so I hope this one gets finished without a tons of disasters!

    • Glad you enjoy the quilting posts. I’m going to get serious about including more quilting posts on my blog. I now have a high speed internet connection so it won’t take all day to upload a few photos! Just keep quilting. It is the best way to get better. I like the things I am making now so much better than just a year or so ago. Good luck on your custom quilt!

Leave a Reply

