Flowers and quilts

It has been way too hot to spend any time outside this week.  I did go out late one evening, but only got one good photograph of my tiger lilies.  The heat and dry weather are taking their toll on everything, and it is so hot I don’t even want to go out to water everything.

Summer Tiger Lily

My dahlia is still hanging in there.  It should start blooming soon! 

I have gotten quite a bit of quilting done this week.  I finished a baby quilt that was a custom order using pale blue blocks from the Pure collection for Moda.  I added personalization, which was the first time I had done that on a quilt.  I had to buy three set of Pure to have enough pale blue blocks.  Now I have enough blocks for a couple of projects!

Then I started on another custom order for a large lap quilt in fall colors.  I made 16 sets of 4 patch squares using some blendables and some squares from Moda collections, especially Arnold’s Attic.  They are set together with large chocolate brown squares, while the backing squares are off-white flannel and rust.  Here’s a picture of the first three rows. 

Fall quilt

 I have also done some cooking and baking this week, including Italian bread, apple pie, and vegetable quesadillas, as well as German potato salad and American potato salad.  We figured out that I can afford to stay home if we got back a bit on our grocery bill.  Fortunately, I love to cook, and I enjoy it almost as much as I enjoy quilting.  The biggest problem will be not gaining a ton of weight, because I love to eat as much as I love to cook!

I did get to watch on very favorite TV show this week, “So You Think You Can Dance”.  Wish I wasn’t coming in so close to the end of the season, but at least I didn’t miss out on all of it.  I have also been doing a little sorting and editing of stuff.  Have two huge boxes ready to go to the Pro-Life yard sale. 

Seems like we have been home from Houston a lot longer than a week.  So far, I’m not missing work.  And I’m so glad I don’t have to be out in this heat!  We are praying for rain and cooler temperatures. 

 

 

 

 

About countrybydesign

blogging, photography, cooking, baking, quilting, genealogy
This entry was posted in Country By Design, Nature and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Flowers and quilts

  1. Aussie Emjay says:

    The tiger lily is stunning! It’s been hotter than usual here too – I think it was the hottest July ever (or if not it was certainly way up there!). Very unpleasant to do anything outside. Not so bad commuting off to work at 6.40am but truly horrible commuting home at 5pm!

Leave a Reply

