The shaking dog

A couple of weeks ago while our granddaughter was here, she went swimming with the dogs.  I’ve always wanted to take pictures of flying drops of water, so I grabbed my camera.  Here’s what happened.

Shakin' Lady

Okay, my blog is still preventing me from entering typing after I insert a photo, but following aussie emjay’s suggestion, I hit the enter key several times before I inserted the photo from my media library.  Then the cursor was right under the photo at the left margin, were it belonged.  Don’t know why, but whatever!  Thanks for the suggestion, emjay!

Shake 'em, Lady!

Actually, the cursor stays at the end of the caption for the photo, but I can click to move it to the left margin under the photo.

Lady at Lake Linda

Lady of the Lake

Dogs shake so vigorously to get the water off their bodies after they get out of the water.  You don’t even see how it distorts their eyes and their mouth when they are shaking.  It happens too fast.  Taking these photos was all about anticipation.  I had to have the camera pointing at her, then watch her to anticipate when the shake would begin.

Lady at the Lake

After the swim

You think they are shaking all over, but the shake moves down their body from their head to their tail.  In this shot, the shake is at the shoulders.   The water drops are flying out in a complete arc around her body.

Lady

Doin' the shake

Looking at these photos, you wouldn’t believe that we are about to dry up and blow away.  It’s “lake effect” grass!

Doin' the shake

Doin' the shake

This is my favorite photo in the series.  I like the way her ears are both flying out to the side.  She loves to play fetch in the water and will swim out a long distance to fetch a stick.  I tried throwing a plastic water bottle, but she wasn’t interested.  It had to be a stick.  She would bring them back and drop them on the shore, or take them up under the trees if she needed to rest.

Today was cooking day again.  I made Old Settler’s beans this morning and cut up a cantaloupe.  I changed the recipe up a little bit and like it even better.  I’ll have to post a photo and the recipe.  This afternoon I make another batch of zucchini bread with some zucchini that had been in the freezer for a couple of years.  I drained off some of the liquid and it worked just fine.  Then I cut a watermelon, and put some drumsticks in the oven with a homemade BBQ sauce.  I’ll let you know how they turn out.  Going to do a bit of quilting now!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About countrybydesign

blogging, photography, cooking, baking, quilting, genealogy
This entry was posted in Food, Nature and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The shaking dog

  1. Freedom Smith says:

    I LOVE these pictures! The flying water and the dogs flying parts are so interesting and funny. What camera and settings did you use. Great photo series!!

    • I used my Canon Powershot A540. I keep the mode set on “Scenery”. I’d have to check the pictures to get the other settings. I didn’t increase the speed of the film or anything like that. I wish I could have gotten one of her tail on the first tail shake. The water drops make a perfect circle as they fly off the end of the tail. Glad you enjoyed them.

  2. Freedom Smith says:

    Oh, and I think all of the extra “enters” you do are landing at the end. There are several pages of blank whiteness before the comment section 🙂

  3. ladywise says:

    These are great photos CbD! I would never have thought about taking these type of photos. Very interesting that the shakes start at the head and move down the body. I guess I’ve never watched them close enough to notice that.

Leave a Reply

