Mad About Hearts rag quilt baby blanket

rag quilt baby blanket

Mad About Hearts baby blanket

I finished making this custom order baby blanket this afternoon.  I could have finished it last night but I got a blister on my thumb while I was clipping the seams.  When I’m making table runners and smaller quilts, I clip each row as I get the blocks stitched together, but with this one, I stitched all the rows together first.  Then I stitched the rows together in sets of three, then I stitched those blocks together.  Then I had all 11 rows to clip at one time!  Too much clipping.   You can see more pictures at Etsy.
Heart print fabric

"Timeless Treasures" heart fabric

Well, this time, I had to “enter” space for the first photo so I could enter typing later, but this time I was able to place the cursor below the photo.  I should have counted how many spaces I entered.
This is a close up of one of the fabrics that I used in the Mad About Hearts quilt.  It’s part of  the Timeless Treasures collection.  I found one other piece of fabric from that collection, but I don’t think I used it.  I should have kept track of the number of fabrics that I bought just for this quilt.  It wasn’t as easy as I had thought it would be.  I didn’t try going to a quilt shop (too far away), but I did go to fabrics.com.  They have just about everything.  They had pages of heart fabrics, but most of them were in colors other than pink, red, and white.
While I was waiting for my thumb to stop hurting last night, I starting laying out a new quilt.  I’m going to make another quilt the same size as this one for my great-grandson.  His second birthday is coming up soon.  I have a blue print with teddy bears and other toys that I’m going to put together with a lot of other odds and ends from my stash for a totally vintage quilt.
I’m going to have to call my dentist in the morning.  I managed to break another tooth tonight while I was eating yogurt!  It doesn’t really hurt, but I can’t close my mouth.  Might make chewing a bit hard to do.
Still praying for rain!
About countrybydesign

blogging, photography, cooking, baking, quilting, genealogy
This entry was posted in Country By Design, Etsy. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Mad About Hearts rag quilt baby blanket

  1. Freedom Smith says:

    Your quilt is gorgeous. I love the colors and the ruffles. You go to so much trouble and care in the making of your quilts! Sorry about your thumb! Hope you can finish the quilt tonight.

    How did you break a tooth, “chewing,” on yogurt??

    • I really liked the way the hearts quilt turned out, too, and so did the customer I made it for, so it’s gone. I put a band-aid on my thumb and finished my clipping with no additional problems. I used to “eat” ice a long time ago, but now it’s catching up with me. My teeth break and fillings fall out when I’m eating stuff like yogurt and mashed potatoes. Totally crazy!

Leave a Reply

