What we ate this week

I’m realizing that I haven’t been posting my cooking experiments for this week.  There haven’t been any big winners, but one does stand out.  Last night I made a Broccoli Casserole with Rice and Cheese from About.com.  It was the first recipe I found that didn’t use canned soup.  I did change it up, of course, but using one pound of fresh broccoli florets and 1 1/2 cups of fresh chopped mushrooms.  I cooked the broccoli for just a couple of minutes and sautéed the mushrooms with the onions in 4 TBSP of flour.  I added 1/4 cup flour and 1 1/2 cups of milk.  Used Velveeta for 1 1/2 cups of the cheese, with a little grated cheddar on top, but no bread crumbs.  And I used brown rice.  I will make it the same way again with the addition of a little ground mustard to give it a little zip.  Mary Ann even liked it and she doesn’t like rice.

Another experiment this week was Honey Spice Drumsticks from  allrecipes.  I basically followed this recipe, except I sub some ground adobe for some of the cumin.  They have a kick but not too hot.  Mary Ann really liked them.  I’m not a big fan of drumsticks, but this was by far the best way to fix them that I’ve found to date.  I just poured everything over the drummies in a glass dish and baked them in a 300 degree oven for a couple of hours, turning them a couple of times.

One recipe that I won’t try again is the Corn-Fish Chowder from myrecipes.  I thought it sounded like a good idea, and it was a bit better the second time around after I tweaked it a bit, but not good enough to make again.

I did make another batch of the blueberry banana oatmeal cookies that I had tried in Texas, I they are seriously delicious.  That recipe is a keeper.  They are super moist and flavorful.

I still have a stack of recipes that I want to try next week, including grilled salmon, carrot cake muffins, blueberry oat bars, German potato salad, and peanut butter oatmeal cookies.  I did make a pasta salad on Sunday from a recipe that I cut out of a magazine a long time ago.  Still good.  Think I’ll go make another bowl full for tonight to serve with the leftover broccoli and rice, and the leftover cornbread from lunch.  I didn’t have enough cornmeal, so I had to sub in some whole wheat flour.  Looks a little strange, but tastes great!

Pasta salad, here I come!

 

 

 

About countrybydesign

blogging, photography, cooking, baking, quilting, genealogy
This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What we ate this week

  1. Freedom Smith says:

    The banana blueberry oatmeal cookies sound divine. I bet that would make a wonderful sweet bread too, with butter on it……..yum!!

Leave a Reply

