Sunday in photos

I must be finally reaching a healing place. I went out with my camera tonight after dinner and took pictures. I’ve uploaded them to Flickr, so I’ll try to get them inserted here with the right captions.

2011_08_28 - dusk 035

Most of my petunias have seen better days, but this one on the porch is still looking pretty good.

2011_08_28 - dusk 033

This pink petunia is a little worse for the wear, but the color is still pretty.

2011_08_28 - dusk 034

I couldn’t resist giving the pink petunia a watercolor filter. Stunning!

2011_08_28 - dusk 032

Here’s a bloom on one of my new butterfly bushes that I got for my birthday. They are a little bit more blue than this, but I didn’t try to fix it.

2011_08_28 - dusk 031

I didn’t think this sunset image would turn out so I only took one shot. Just goes to show you never can tell! You really need to click on them to see the full image. Does anyone know how to re-size photos on Flickr?

2011_08_28 - dusk 029

I took several images of the lake, similar to ones I took last year. I can’t decide which one(s) I like best, so I’m uploading several of them. I’ll have to look at them later to decide. And I figured out how to re-size them. Yeah!

2011_08_28 - dusk 028

2011_08_28 - dusk 025

2011_08_28 - dusk 013

I haven’t had very many hummingbirds this summer, but they must be moving through on their way south now. I have to fill the feeder every day, and they are braver than usual. I didn’t have to zoom in to get this shot. I was just inches away.
2011_08_28 - dusk 007

This fellow has taken up residence on my hummingbird feeder. I have to move him off every time I take it down to fill it. Or is it her? Click on the shot to see the Flickr version.

I did figure out how to re-size in Flickr. When you have the photo you want pulled up, click on Actions, then Edit in Picnik. I re-sized by changing the pixels, but you can also do percentages smaller or larger.

About countrybydesign

blogging, photography, cooking, baking, quilting, genealogy
This entry was posted in Nature and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Sunday in photos

  1. Tanya says:

    These are beautiful photos! That Butterfly bush is gorgeous…i may have to look in to getting one of those.

    • It’s one of the new ones that doesn’t get so big, only 2 to 3 feet. It has done really well even though it has been hot and dry this summer and I didn’t get it planted until the end of June.

  2. Freedom Smith says:

    Breathtaking photos! I am amazed that you were able to capture a hummingbird in flight!! Also, the petunia with the water color filter should be framed, it is so gorgeous. That is funny that a praying mantis likes your hummingbird feeder. Oh, and the reflection pictures when you are at the water. How beautiful. You, my friend, have become quite an expert at taking pictures!

  3. Amazing pictures. I love the hummingbird. The late summer colors are coming out in your photos.

  4. V A Nichols says:

    Great photographs! Love the petunia with watercolor filter, humming bird and butterfly bush 🙂 I find taking photos relaxing, and it allows me to focus on beauty. Keep going out with your camera and finding beauty…….it’s good for your soul!
    Bless you-

    • Thank you for your kind comments. I had gotten away from photography for awhile, but I want to make it a part of each day. I “see” more clearly and deeply when I’m holding my camera.

Leave a Reply

