Country By Design place mats

I finished another set of rag quilted place mats this week, but I don’t like them as well as the set I made with vintage denim.  Some ideas just don’t work out as well as others!

Country By Design rag quilted place mats

I’ve been doing computer stuff all day today.  We did do to Mass tonight because we want to cut wood for this winter tomorrow.  It was too hot to do it today.

I’m really getting into Winter Garden by Kristin Hannah.  It isn’t like any other book I’ve ever read.  I don’t want to put it down.

On Thursday, I went to the city and helped my granddaughter make 200 cupcakes for a wedding.  We mixed each batch from scratch, and the icing, too.  We would have had enough had it not been for the ones that over flowed, etc., including the ones that got poked by little fingers and eaten by little boys.  Cooking together was a fun way to spend the day.  I enjoy visiting with people more when I’m busy doing something than when I just sitting around.  Half were to be white and half were to be chocolate.  We used really easy recipes, but they tasted good.  We needed a cookie/ice cream scoop that would measure out exactly the amount of batter we needed to go in each cake.  We had an ice cream scoop, but when you filled it, it was too much, and it was hard to always scoop out just the right amount.  I baked one batch of chocolate ones with the oven turned off!  They tasted great because each one had a gooey spot where it wasn’t cooked.  I did way too much taste-testing!

It’s bedtime, but I’m going to read some more.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About countrybydesign

blogging, photography, cooking, baking, quilting, genealogy
This entry was posted in Country By Design and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Country By Design place mats

  1. ladywise says:

    Sounds like a fun day CbD. I always enjoy doing something at someone’s house more than sitting around too. My back ends up hurting if I sit very much. I love these place mats. Nice color scheme and I love the big square with the heart. Nice design!

    • Thanks, Debra! I’m not good a sitting around either. I’d much rather visit while doing something. Glad you like the place mats. I will make more using a similar design, I’m sure. It seems to work at well. I think I will make some for Christmas with a star or a tree in the big square.

  2. Freedom Smith says:

    What an undertaking, 200 cupcakes. It sounds like you and you granddaughter had a great time, though, doing it together. I have pampered chef scoops in three sizes. They are very useful and even have a thing that makes the batter come out into the muffin tin or cup.

    I just put the book you mentioned on hold. I don’t have it written down, in goodreads, as one I have read. I now have it on my waiting list at the library. Thanks for mentioning it.

    • I’ll have to check out the Pampered Chef scoops. As a general rule, I don’t make a lot of cupcakes. I would eat too many of them!

      You will love Winter Garden. It is a sad story, so far at least. I’m going to have to look for another book of hers when I finish this one. Right now, she is my favorite author.

Leave a Reply

