Caregiving, cont.

Here’s a link to the article by Jonathan Rauch that was published in Reader’s Digest.  The Quiet Crisis  was first published in The Atlantic under the title Letting Go of My Father.   The links to helpful websites are included in this article, too.  Hope this helps those of you who were having trouble finding the article.  Thanks to a helpful reader for providing the link.

About countrybydesign

blogging, photography, cooking, baking, quilting, genealogy
This entry was posted in Caregiving and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Caregiving, cont.

  1. Erin Michel says:

    Thank you SO much for sharing this! i wish I had had this essay a couple of years ago; I worked in the senior care industry for awhile, and this essay hits the nail right on the head. I would hear this same heartbreaking story repeatedly from family members of elderly folks who could no longer care for themselves, and each time the family felt that they were unique in having to deal with it. There are few but growing numbers of resources for caregivers. I’ve seen too many people lose their health, sanity, even jobs and homes because of the lack of information, resources, and support available to them as caregivers and decision-makers.

    • Thanks, Erin. I wish I had had access to all this information several years ago when I was dealing with my mom’s declining health. I didn’t know where to go to get answers. Hopefully it will get better as more and more of us are talking about it.

Leave a Reply

