Slow day in the country

Not much to get excited about around here today, but that suits me just fine.  I spent a lot of time working on my baby quilt and it is almost finished.  I just have to clip the borders and send it through the washer and dryer to make it fuzzy.  I even created a label for it.

Lunch today was really easy.  Grilled Colby jack cheese on whole wheat bread.  Remember that chocolate cheesecake that I made on Sunday?  Today I took a piece, covered it with melted caramel sauce, then topped it with pecans and chocolate chips.  Now that’s what I’m talking about!  I may have to make another one just so I can do the whole turtle thing again.

Paul was wanted some meat for dinner, but I wanted spaghetti, so guess who won?  I fixed spaghetti with a broccoli sauce.  Yum!  So satisfying, even without salad and garlic bread.  I’m starting to like really simple meals.  Surely I’m not getting lazy!

I worked on my quilt for an hour or so after dinner, then grabbed my camera and went out to see what I could find.  The most interesting images I came back with were these spider plant flowers.

Spider plant flowers

Look at the delicate little curls at the ends of the stamens.

Spider plant flowers

They look like little ballerinas.

Wow, it’s a lot later than I thought it was.  Bed time!

About countrybydesign

blogging, photography, cooking, baking, quilting, genealogy
This entry was posted in Country By Design, Food, Nature and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Slow day in the country

  1. ladywise says:

    I like days without much excitement too. The flower pictures are gorgeous and the turtle cheesecake sounds wonderful! Even the grilled cheese sounds good. I need to get some cheese this weekend and make me one.

  2. Freedom Smith says:

    What pretty pictures! I love their simplicity as well. I enjoy days when I don’t have to run to appointments and things of that nature. But Wednesdays get lonely for me because all of the family, but Patsy and me, go to church and she stays in her room. LONG DAY. Hopefully, tomorrow will be better.

    • I’m sure the days do get long for you. I get bored easily and like the fact that I can move from my computer to my sewing machine, to the kitchen, or outside. Most days I do all four several times!

Leave a Reply

