Country By Design rag quilted baby blanket


Country By Design rag quilted baby blanket

Here’s the finished baby quilt that I have been working on this week.  I made the squares a bit bigger than usual.  When I use Moda fabrics, it is generally from a charm pack collection of fabrics that are already cut into 5 inch squares, but I cut all of these myself, so I made them bigger.

Double rag quilted border

And here’s a close-up of the 8 layer double clipped border.  I love it!

It was cool here today, and rained until late this afternoon.  We ended up with almost 2 inches.  It was so dry that even with that amount of rain, I was able to go out and work in the flower beds.  It was a little sticky, but I have so much I need to do that I wanted to get started.  I moved six of the tiger lilies tonight.  I need to move more of them and some of the day lilies, too.  I’m making the flower bed out by the mail box bigger.  More people see that one than the one in the back yard.  The down side is that it is too far away to water easily.  But now that I have more time at home, I’ll figure something out.

Lunch today was left-overs.  I had brown and wild rice with sauteed mushrooms and steamed broccoli.  What’s not to like about that?  Oh, and another piece of turtle cheesecake.

Made one of Paul’s favorites for supper.  Meatloaf, mashed potatoes, corn, and morel mushrooms.  The meatloaf was our beef, the potatoes were fresh out of the garden, the corn was some that we put in the freezer earlier this summer, and the morels were some that I had frozen this spring.  So everything was grown or raised on our farm.  We were nourishing our bodies with the work of our hands.  Everything turned out perfect.  I’m getting my cooking skills tuned up again!

I pieced a table runner this afternoon.  Added borders after dinner.  Machine quilted the pieced chevron design in the center, then started hand quilting the borders.  I like the way it is turning out.  I didn’t mark it.  I’m just free hand stitching a meandering pattern.  I’ll show you tomorrow!

 

About countrybydesign

blogging, photography, cooking, baking, quilting, genealogy
This entry was posted in Country By Design, Food, Nature and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

