Hand quilted border

A couple of days ago, I published a shot of a table runner that I’m working on because I was stuck as to how to finish the border.  Thanks to my good friend Darcy Ashton from Ashton Publications for telling me that what I had was okay, I just needed more of it.  She was right.  I have both ends finished now, and this looks so much better.

Hand quilted border

It still has a “Charlie Brown” sort of primitive look, but I’m okay with that.  I don’t want it to be perfect.  Now I just need to do the long sides.

I have an order for a set of fall place mats that I need to make tomorrow, plus another order for a baby lovie that I need to get started on.  It will have 100 squares on the top, 100 squares for batting, and 100 squares for backing.  I need to get a new cutting mat and rotary blade.

 

About countrybydesign

blogging, photography, cooking, baking, quilting, genealogy
This entry was posted in Country By Design, Etsy and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Hand quilted border

  1. Freedom Smith says:

    Wow, I am so impressed by your orders! I am glad you enjoy doing these things. I love the stitching in the picture, with the white thread. That looks very pretty!

    • It’s amazing how much more impact the hand quilting has. And I enjoy doing it. It is soothing, rather like knitting. I finished the set of place mats and got them in the mail this morning. Now I have a set of coasters in the dryer. I was going to make a small runner, but I didn’t have enough of the right fabrics. I’m trying to use fabrics from my stash as much as possible.

Leave a Reply

