Fall is coming!

When we went to town on Thursday, I noticed that some of the trees were starting to get some nice color.  Then today we went down to watch one of our grandsons play soccer and saw a row of trees with beautiful color at the edge of the soccer field.  Didn’t go over to see if I could figure out what kind of trees they were.

Fall color

They look like maple trees, now that I see the picture better.  I saw lots of Virginia creeper today.  It is really bright red.  There is a chance of frost in the weather forecast for tonight, so I spent an hour or so this afternoon bringing in all of my indoor plants that have been outside on vacation since May.  I may go out and cover up my dahlia.  It is the only thing in the flower bed that is still pretty.  After tonight, the weather is supposed to be dry and warm again for a week or so.  I need to go out and water all the plants I have been moving around.  I keep thinking it will rain, but there is nothing in the forecast.

I got all of the squares for the top of the heart quilt cut out tonight, and the first row stitched together.  I need 216 squares of white flannel, but I think I will cut them as I need them.  This quilt will have more red and less pink than the first one, but the baby’s room is red and white, so I think it will be fine.

 

The Fabulous Fall collection from Moda that I had ordered came today.  I’m excited to see how it combines with the Saltbox Harvest and Arnold’s Attic collections.

 

 

About countrybydesign

blogging, photography, cooking, baking, quilting, genealogy
This entry was posted in Nature and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Fall is coming!

  1. Karen Turner says:

    Just wanted to say thanks for stopping by and for your kind words; looking forward to seeing more of your work here.

  2. Aussie Emjay says:

    Lovely colour – there is no turning in the leaves here yet. My Japanese Maple (the only tree I have) is still really green.

Leave a Reply

