Country By Design place mats for the holidays

Country By Design place mats

I decided to make a set of place mats to match the last table runner that I made.  I’m going to take a break from Christmas items long enough to finish a custom order table runner using Nature’s Gifts from Moda.  It is going to be really pretty.  I ordered natural unbleached muslin from fabric.com to use for the backing.  I’m going to use Warm and Natural 100% cotton batting.  You can see more photos of both the table runner and the place mats at Etsy.

I ended up going to the visitation for my hubby’s first cousin‘s son yesterday.  I only knew four people there in addition to the four of us.  We took another cousin who lives out our way with us.  I usually hate to go to funerals and wakes, but I didn’t mind this one as much as I thought I would.

This afternoon, I took my SIL to her dentist appointment.  Took advantage of the time to talk to a good friend that I used to work with over blizzards at Dairy Queen.  I went with Butterfinger this time.  It was an hour well spent.

Fixed sausage and sauerkraut with apples and onions for dinner.  Served it with mashed potatoes that I had put in the freezer in July.  Tasted just like fresh made.

Stitched a couple of rows of squares together for a new table runner that I am working on.  I’m making it using the Nature’s Gift collection by Deb Strain for Moda.  It is a bit unusual in that some of the squares have black in them.  Otherwise, it’s all traditional Christmas colors, although the greens are more olive than holiday.

I did get some very good news today.  The customer that had ordered the Mad About Hearts baby quilt let me know today that she had received it and she loved it!  Made my day!!

Think I’ll go watch a little baseball.  Can’t decide who I want to win this series.  Won’t have that problem tomorrow night!  It’s Cards all the way, baby!!

 

 

About countrybydesign

blogging, photography, cooking, baking, quilting, genealogy
This entry was posted in Country By Design, Etsy and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

