How much quilting can I do in an hour?

I’m not very good at time management, so this morning I decided to see how much quilting I could do in one hour.  Here’s the status of the runner when I started.

First two rows of Nature's Gifts table runner

When I started this morning, I had two rows done.  I take the four squares in each row, quilt them by machine stitching an X through the 5 inch top square, the 4 inch square of Warm and Natural batting, and the 5 inch square of off-white muslin backing.  Then I stitch those 4 squares into a row with a 1/2 inch seam.  Then I press the seams open before clipping the seam allowances.  When I have two rows, I stitch them together with a 1/2 inch seam, press it open and clip.  That’s where I started this morning.

After a little less than an hour (I had to stop to cut more batting squares), this is what I had finished.

First six rows of Nature's Gifts

I had six rows stitched together in sets of three.  Putting rows together in sets makes it easier to construct large table runners because you don’t have some much fabric to work with at one time.  After all the squares are stitched together in sets, I will  stitch the sets together.   You can see that all the seams have been pressed and clipped.

It has rained!  Not a lot, but we will take every drop.  Things looked wet by the time I came home yesterday, and we’ve gotten a couple of showers since then.  Hope it is just priming the pump for more action later today.

About countrybydesign

blogging, photography, cooking, baking, quilting, genealogy
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

