On “vacation”, sort of

I’ve been in St. Louis all week, staying at my daughter’s house.  She is on vacation, and I am taking care of her “kids”, two cats and three dogs.  They have really been good, and have given me some “time off” to visit with extended family members.  So far, I’ve managed to plan so that I have had lunch out every day!

Today three of us went to Kimmswick and ate lunch at The Blue Owl.  The place was packed.  It’s a little Mississippi River town that time seems to have forgotten.  They were getting ready for their Apple Butter Festival this weekend, if you are looking for something to do!  We walked around after lunch, which was very good, and went into most of the shops.  All of them are in old, historic buildings.  I was expecting to see a lot of locally made items, and there were some, but not very many.  I bought a soy candle that was handmade and some really fresh peanut brittle.

The dogs must have had a party while I was gone.  They all fell asleep within a couple of minutes of coming into the house.

I’ve been doing some market research since I’m here with a computer but no sewing machine.  I did bring some counted cross-stitch to work on, but haven’t taken it out of the bag!  I’m trying to decide if I should stick to rag quilts, or try some other items, like tote bags or gift bags.  I think I’m going to stick to what I know best.  Maybe I can throw in something new every once in a while as a market test.  I can’t exactly offer free samples!

Some of the tips I was reading today suggests blogging and posting about what you are currently working on, instead of just posting the finished product.  I’m still not sure that will really help.  Perhaps I can try it and see what happens.

This vacation has been like a stay-cation.  I didn’t have to go very far, but I can sleep in every day, eat what I want when I want, and don’t have to answer to anyone!  The dogs and cats have been great company.  They treat me like I’m the most important person in the world!

 

 

 

About countrybydesign

blogging, photography, cooking, baking, quilting, genealogy
This entry was posted in Country By Design, Family and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to On “vacation”, sort of

  1. trailblazer1 says:

    Hi,
    I was just talking with my niece who lives in Ballwin and has eaten The Blue Owl many times, she works at the Lake St. Charles Retirement facility and they take a bus load of residents there every year – small world, right?
    She wanted to know if you are bleary-eyed from watching the ball game last night?
    Have a great week-end.

Leave a Reply

